Topic Title: PCI-E Graphics card for A6-3670 APU
Topic Summary: Minimum requirements for an add-on graphics card
Created On: 10/12/2013 02:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/12/2013 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aleatorylamp
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/12/2013

Hello!

I have an AMD A6-3670 APU with AMD Radeon HD 6530D Graphics on a F1A55-M LX R.2 motherboard, and am very satisfied indeed with its performance all-round, especially for flight simulators and auto-cad type 3D object creator programmes.  

For some games however, a separate PCI-E card would most probably be better, so I´d like to know the minimum requirements for such a card. I suppose that it would have to be at least a 1Gb card with DDR3 memory. Adding a 1Gb Gforce 210 card would probably make it slower, huh?

My second question is out of curiosity: If an add-on graphics card works in tandem with the APU´s 320 graphics channels, or if it replaces them. 

Thanks in advance for any replies!

With kind regards,

Aleatorylamp

 10/12/2013 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

For any real advice about this you need to supply what PSU you have. I will say one thing is that any card beyond those which are crossfire compatible with your onboard graphics, will result in your onboard graphics will be disabled.

So read the Sticky Read Before Posting which details information needed to get a more detailed responce.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 10/12/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aleatorylamp
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/12/2013

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I did read the sticky - I thought I´d given enough information about my equipment for the question I asked, but it appears insufficient, so I do indeed apologize!

The PSU is a 500 Watt one, and there are 4Gb of 1866 Mhz Memory. 

I suppose I´m right in supposing that a 1Gb Gforce 210, despite its 1 Mb memory, will not be of any use as it only has 16 graphic cores and DDR2 memory.

From your reply, reading between the lines, I deduce that a 1Gb DDR3 Graphics card will work together with the APU graphics and increase performance. I´m not looking for a spectacular super-expensive top range graphics add-on option.

Thanks again, and with kind regards,

Aleatorylamp

 

 

 10/12/2013 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Radeon 7750 Is what I would go with, its faster then both your APU and the descreite cards together that it supports. There also cheap and provide good bang for the buck. 

However for the sake of argument, you need to find out what brand / make / model that PSU is. If its just a cheaply made OEM POS. It may not be anywhere near a 500W PSU and may be as little as 250ish in a real load situation.

Also you should post up a budget as well so we know what to recommend as far as bang for the buck is concerned.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 10/12/2013 at 04:12 PM by Vantharas
 10/12/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aleatorylamp
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/12/2013

Thanks a lot! There is a nice 2Gb DDR3 ATI Radeon 7750 available locally, within my 120$ budget.

For 40$ more, there´d be a DDR5 one, but I´ll quite happily go with your comment that the 7750  "provides good bang for the buck".

I don´t remember the make of my PSU, but it´s a good one because I put in the same for a friend to run a 3.6Ghz A6-5400K FM2 and a 2Gb GTX650 DDR5 graphics card (mine is only a 2.7 Ghz A6-3670 FM1).

Cheers,

Aleatorylamp

 

Statistics
85518 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.