Topic Title: "Package Temperature" Richland APU
Topic Summary: What is?
Created On: 11/10/2013 07:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/10/2013 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

Hi guys,

I finally have my new system together and I'm trying to get used to it. Last time I built a PC was on socket 939. Anyway, I have an A8-6500 Richland APU on the Asrock FM2-A88X FM2+ motherboard. Speedfan detects one CPU temperature which is very normal (with the CPU sitting there doing nothing ~33C). HWMonitor from CPUID also detects this temperature, but detects another temperature, the "package temperature."

At this moment, the package temperature is sitting at 52C. However, I've seen it go into the 80s when the CPU is actually under some load. Looking at it now, I see that the maximum the sensor has read so far is 255C, so something is clearly wonky.

I'm just trying to get this CPU folding for an extended period of time, and even though I'm inclined to just ignore this sensor, I wanted to double check with you guys first.

Thanks!

 



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 11/11/2013 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Package temperature was probably intended to be a kind of average temperature across all cores.  From a user perspective it's meaningless since the polling interval of most monitoring software wouldn't capture any differences between cores anyway, but not having a single diode that could be read to determine CPU temp would have freaked people out.  If it seems like something is getting lost in translation just ignore it, and you'll probably be fine.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 11/12/2013 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

Thanks for the reply, Mime. Will do. Thanks!



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 11/18/2013 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samusprime89
Peon

Posts: 39
Joined: 11/13/2013

I have the A8-6600K and my package temps range from 60-200C, so i just ignore it because those temps are impossible and the APU would die if it were really at 200C, so im guessing its just an error, btw in HWmonitor look for "TMPIN1" thats your cpu temperature for this APU

 11/21/2013 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

Hey Samus, thanks! Good to get some confirmation on the package temp.

As for TMPIN1--I don't have one of those. I do have a TMPIN3 which I wasn't really sure about. It reads pretty average temperatures. However, I also have a CPUTIN which I have been assuming is the one I need to watch. CPUTIN is also the temperature that Speedfan picks up. I'll have to stress it and watch both of those temperatures and see what happens. TMPIN3 usually reads about 10C higher than the CPUTIN, so hopefully that's something else.

Thanks!



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 05/02/2014 10:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobbyrae
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/02/2014

Wow, this is strange because I have such a similar setup, yet my package temp always seems to be the reasonable value.

I have a ASUS A88X-pro FM2+ board with a A6-6400 APU. Win7. At first I struggled to find any software that would show me any meaningful temp data at all. ASUS's PCProbe and NBProbe would not even install without errors. Speedfan was totally useless as it just showed blanks.  Finally I found HWINFO32 and HWMonitor.  Both of these show a package temp 35-65C. Other temps always seem ridiculous, as in near freezing!

Makes me wonder if there is something awry with this MOBO.  In general, I have to say that the chip and board makers seem to be missing the boat, however, in that there are so many of us out here that want to be watching our CPU temps, yet it is such a struggle to get sensible values.  Overclocking? Sure. Temps? forget it.

Statistics
84980 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.