Topic Title: can i upgrade my A6 3420m cpu in my laptop?
Topic Summary: upgrading the cpu
Created On: 12/09/2013 01:40 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2013 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jlucas3420
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

can i buy a faster and or newer amd chip like the A8 or A10 and replace my A6 cpu? i have a laptop with dual graphics, a seperate video card and the apu which is actually slower when using both in sli so ive disabled the cpu graphics. Can i upgrade the cpu if the socket is the same ? ive found some cpus on ebay that are new for a low price that appear to use the same socket and have the same temp and power requirements, ive searched google and never seen anyone actually doing this, although ive done it before with my last intel laptop so replacing the chip is not an issue.

 12/09/2013 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

YOu need to contact your laptop manufacturer and find out if the bios of your laptop supports other models of APU's you also need to find out if so, what was the most powerful model that your laptop came with and you should be able to upgrade *up to* that as the heatsink wouldn't be able to handle higher TDP units.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 12/09/2013 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jlucas3420
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

the tdp is the same on the A8 3500m, i did talk to tech support at AMD today and they said even if it was 45 instead of 35 it would be ok, and i always use a laptop colling pad. the main question is can my lenovo z575 handle it, and when i go to their site they dont list it anymore so im having trouble finding out if there was different models, im in no rush and wanted some feed back. im pretty sure with lenovo any model with a different cpu had a different model number, i dread talking to lenovo about this, it was bad enough being on hold with amd for 30 minutes just to talk to someone who told me i could use an A10 which i cant, and he said i couldnt use an a8 which actually does use the same chipset. i can almost guarantee you lenono wont be able to answer this question. but ill try. right now im overclocking my a63420 to 2.5 and its stable and not hot. ive seen the a8 oc to 2.8-3.0 stable, is it worth 65 bucks for a couple of hundred mgz? not sure, i know that this cpu is pretty weak even and bf3 was unplayble in mulitplayer mode but the video card is decent ( i have the apu disabled in bios as crossfire got worse results than using the stand alone video card in any situation i tried)

 12/09/2013 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jlucas3420
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

Lenovo Z475/Z575
27
This chapter presents the following product-specific service references and
product-specific parts information:
• “Specifications” on page 27
• “Status indicators” on page 29
• “FRU tests” on page 31
• “Fn key combinations” on page 31
• “FRU replacement notices” on page 32
• “Removing and replacing an FRU” on page 33
•“Locations” on page73
• “Parts list” on page 76
The following table lists the specifications of the Lenovo Z475/Z575:
Table 1. Specifications
Feature
Description
Processor AMD Liano APU
• AMD A8-3500M 2.4GHz/1.5GHz
• AMD A6-3400M 2.3GHz/1.4GHz
• AMD A4-3300M 2.5GHz/1.9GHz
• AMD E2-3000M 1.8GHz
South bridge • AMD Hudson River M2 A60M
• AMD Hudson River M3 A70M
Integrated
graphics
• Radeon HD6620G (AMD A8-3500M)
• Radeon HD6520G (AMD A6-3400M)
• Radeon HD6480G (AMD A4-3300M)
• Radeon HD6380G (AMD E2-3000M)
Discreet graphics
(on select models)
• Radeon HD6650M
• Radeon HD6470M
Display • 14.0 HD, LED backlight, flat type, 1366 x 768 pixels,
220 nit (Z475)
• 15.6 HD, LED backlight, flat type, 1366 x 768 pixels,
220 nit (Z575)
Memory • DDR III SDRAM, 1333MHz, 1GB
• DDR III SDRAM, 1333MHz, 2GB
• DDR III SDRAM, 1333MHz, 4GB
 12/09/2013 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

You could put in an A8 then if your model came with them. Again you would need to contact your laptop manufacturer to see what APU's your unit could support. If there is a bios upgrade to support newer units go for it. If not though at that point you are going to be gambling as the A8-3500M is the fastest APU listed. 

But I'd go for the fastest one you could get definetly worth trying out.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 12/09/2013 at 10:05 PM by Vantharas
 12/10/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jlucas3420
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

ive done some you tube watching and overclocked mine to 2.7 and its stable, its running warmer, but not anywhere near as hot as when i would try to play bf3 multiplayer on the lowest possible settings, it wouldnt crash but would cook.  from my understanding the only difference between the a6 and a8 is the apu side is faster, which i have disabled because crossfire actually runs fps slower than with just the seperate video card ( thanks amd for totally misleading me and everyone on the crossfire concept actually working with an apu and a video card. turns out the games revert back to the slower apu and stutter each time they have to use a frame.   it appears the only difference is 100mhz. now if the a8 runs cooler at 2.7 meaning i could overclock it more i would spend the money, but i havent seen anyone push that chip in a laptop to over 3 ghz and even then its still dipping below 30 fps ( totally unplayable for fps shooters or multiplayer games ) as someone who used amd for years, it makes me sad they cant come up with a cpu thats any different than intel chips from years before. i had no idea this quad core from 2011 was about the same in single threaded performance as chips in laptops from 2006. it cant even beat my core 2 duo t9500 from 2008. whats the point of having graphics to run games but no cpu to handle the settings the video card can handle.

 

the a10 would be great but of course uses revision 2 of the fs1 socket so cant be used in revision 1. so no upgrade. since i cant play any games with playable frame rates, i should have got the i3 chip with integrated graphics, its faster for the few games i can play on this laptop, prob why it was on sale lol

Statistics
81000 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.