Topic Title: Is A8-5600K a Quad-core?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/07/2014 08:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/07/2014 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkmwarmerchandise
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/07/2014

Hi AMD,

I am trying to verify that AMD A8-5600K is a quad-core right off the bet without any tweaking or unlocking or turning on turbo. Right?

 01/07/2014 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Yes and then no, but it has 4 cores and 4 threads. The chip contains two Piledriver modules which contain two cores each.

To some software this means two cores and four threads, but that is always what it is. Details just look up Piledriver microarchitecture in Wikipedia.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL



Edited: 01/08/2014 at 06:46 PM by WMudrockJr
 01/08/2014 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 682
Joined: 10/30/2009

Technically it's a 2 core/ 2x2 threads which AMD calls "4-core"



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v4
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1866 HyperX Fury
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64


 

 01/09/2014 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

The A8-5600K is a (4) core APU.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldozer/AMD-A8-Series%20A8-5600K.html

Some people have a difficult time understanding that a DUAL CORE module is TWO CORES thus 2x of a Dual Core Module = 4 actual cores, not 2 real cores and 2 virtual cores like Intel CPUs can have.

AMD builds processors based on dual core modules so if you have 2x modules you have a 4 core APU/CPU. If you have 3x modules you have a six core processor. If you have 4x modules you have an 8 core CPU.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

 01/09/2014 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 682
Joined: 10/30/2009

This thread explains pretty well what about those "cores"

http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-mac-discussion-1000004/amd-bulldozer-series-quad-core-is-actually-a-dual--29318608/

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v4
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1866 HyperX Fury
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64


 

 01/09/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

Unfortunately a lot of what you read online is technically half truths or incorrect so most people have no means to understand fact from fiction.

The fact is AMD processors with dual core modules function exactly like two cores per module regardless of the front end fetch, floating point, etc. architecture. While the architecture has room for improvement and steamroller brings some of those improvements, the fact is that the core count that AMD advertises is correct and the CPUs perform as advertised not as 1/2 of the advertised cores.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 



Edited: 01/09/2014 at 04:54 PM by AMDforMe
 01/10/2014 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 682
Joined: 10/30/2009

The "cores" are merely the integer units of the CPU(ALU) - effectively meaning the "cores" are no cores at all.

It would be technically more correct to say it's a CPU with 8/4/2 integer units and there the "multi-core" show stops boldly.

just a blunt marketing gimmick!

 

Here the "8-core" FX showing just 4 modules (cores) on die:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4955/the-bulldozer-review-amd-fx8150-tested

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v4
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1866 HyperX Fury
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64


 

 01/10/2014 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

No it's not a marketing gimmick. This is precisely why I said a lot of what is written is incorrect and most PC enthusiasts can't decipher fact from fiction. The cores are in fact actual cores and thus a dual core module is two cores running two ops concurrently, even if some folks don't understand or believe this.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

 01/10/2014 05:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 682
Joined: 10/30/2009

And you are who pretending to be the ultimate FX illuminatus?

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v4
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1866 HyperX Fury
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64


 

Statistics
88933 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.