Topic Title: A10-7850k - Windows Will Not Load
Topic Summary: Windows 8.1 hangs on loading after upgrading to A10-7850k
Created On: 01/16/2014 10:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/22/2014 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7427
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: r have you tried running it at extremely low speed and with very retarded timings?  If i do that, it will run temporarily in dual channel, but will eventually lock up after 15 minutes or so.  I'm hoping to see that our situations are identical. 

also, i tried the drivers that WMudrockJr posted, but they made absolutely no difference.  I dont even see how they are any different than the existing catalyst 13.11 beta9.5

 

Also, how do we go about contacting AMD directly about this issue?  I've looked online and there are lots of people reporting the same issue now.

 

Technical Support Phone Numbers

North America - United States & Canada:

Tel: 877-284-1566 (Toll Free)
FirePro, FireGL and FireMV Support by Telephone: 866-284-2093 (Toll Free – English only)
Monday - Friday: 9:00AM - 6:00PM EST?

 

Europe?

Benelux
Tel:00 800-12 30 23 40 (free phone)
Intl Tel: +31-(0)20-8080942
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 CET
?Italy
Tel:800 877 224 (numero verde)
Intl Tel: +39-0699337345
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 CET
France
Tel:0800 908 621 (num.vert)
Intl Tel: +33-(0)182885487
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 CET
?Spain
Tel:900 99 71 21
Intl Tel: +34- 911875514
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 CET
?Germany
Tel:49 (0) 89 4505 3199
Intl Tel: +49-(0)30-30808249
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 CET
?United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 1276 932318
Intl Tel: +31-208080959
Monday - Friday: 10:00 - 17:00 GMT

 

South America:

?Argentina
Tel: 0800-444-1186 Toll Free
Intl Tel: +54-11- 59842576
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT-3)
?Mexico
Tel: 001-866-251-9356 Toll Free
Intl Tel: +52-55-47411322
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT-5)
?Brazil
Tel: 0800-891-1349 Toll Free
Intl Tel: +55-11-39587187
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 09:00 - 18:00 (GMT-3)
?Peru
Tel: 0800-54777
Intl Tel: +51-1-7071622
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT- 5)
?Colombia
Tel: 01-800-915-6060 Toll Free
Intl Tel: +57-1-3819956
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT-5)
?Venezuela
Tel: 800-100-2512
Intl Tel: +58-212-3357437
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT-4)
?Chile
Tel: 123-00-202-854 Toll Free
Intl Tel: +56-2-2-585-6972
(Portuguese/English/Spanish)
Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 18:00 (GMT-4)
?

 

Asia Pacific:

?Australia
Tel: 1-800-307657
Monday - Friday: 11:30 - 19:00 AEST
?Malaysia
Tel: 1-800-807088 (English Only)
Monday - Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 MYT
?China
Tel: 400-898-5643
Monday - Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 BJT
?New Zealand
Tel: 800450175
Monday - Friday: 13:30 - 21:00 NZT
?Hong Kong
?Philippines*
Tel: 180011141538 (English Only)
Monday - Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 PHT
?India
Tel: +91-80-33230050, 67030050
Monday - Friday: 09:00 - 17:00 IST
?Singapore
Tel: 8001204639
Monday - Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 SST
?Indonesia*
Tel: 007-803-011-0361 (English Only)
Monday- Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 BORT
? Taiwan
Tel: 00801137427
Monday – Friday: 09:30 - 17:00 TWT
?Japan
Tel: 0066-33-812651
Monday – Friday: 10:00 – 18:00 JST
??Thailand* ?
Tel: 001800120666587 (English Only)
Monday - Friday: 08:30 - 16:00 THA
?Korea
Vietnam*
Tel: 120 111 62 (English Only)
Monday – Friday: 08:30 – 16:00 VST
??



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 01/22/2014 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7427
Joined: 11/13/2009

......and

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=161256&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 01/22/2014 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

i've actually used both of those and AMD has not made any attempt to get back to me.  I'm very disappointed because I've always been an AMD fan and have wanted to support the underdog.  That, and I'm canadian so i'm partial to ATI.  I may just have to replace my cpu with a haswell.

 01/27/2014 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nadro
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/08/2008

I have similar problem with A10-7850k + Asrock FM2A88M Extreme4+ with Kingston 2400MHz RAM (KHX24C11T2K2/8X - signed as supported on Asrock website). Windows 8.1 crash at boot or few seconds/minutes after login. I see crash in both Single Channel and Dual Channel memory mode, I tested different speeds for memory, but nothing help. W8.1 crashed first time ~10 seconds after Catalyst (beta version for Kaveri) installation, before it Windows worked properly with built-in drivers ~3 hours without problems. My second system - Ubuntu 14.04 (Alpha version) + Catalyst works fine, system is stable, thats why I think that something is wrong with Windows 8.1 and/or Catalyst 13.30 for Kaveri.

 01/27/2014 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

^ this is interesting.  AMD finally got back to me and so far they are just suggesting I RMA the APU back to them.  I'm considering just selling the motherboard and buying a gigabyte to see if it makes a difference.  FM2+ motherboards are so cheap anyway.

 01/28/2014 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nadro
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/08/2008

When I removed Catalyst all works fine, so it looks like a problem with drivers, anyway I checked it on stock W8.1, at now I installed all updates from Windows Update, so maybe it'll solve this problem, but probably I will not check this drivers again. I can wait 1-2 weeks for new drivers, because Ubuntu works without problems. Did you tried to remove Catalyst? Maybe it will help you too.

 01/28/2014 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

can you try this driver here and see if it works?

http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-catalyst-13-35-beta-driver-leaked-mantle-trueaudio-support_134753

 01/29/2014 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

update) i have been scouring the internet and actually contacted a few peopel who have this system configuration in a stable scenario.  The only correlation i've found is that it crashes with Windows, NOT in linux or SteamOS.

The issue appears to be with some default windows driver that doesnt work with the a88xm-a / a10-7850k combo.

 01/31/2014 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 11/18/2009

I know this defeats what this chip is suppose to do.  but I can't get it loaded ether in dual channel on any thing over two slots or 8 gib and its unstable even then and then its just single channel with 8 gib  . SO i poped  in my 6770 amd i had laying to test it . I was able to load up 32 gib in DM ,went on wow i had the best FPS  there yet at high setting with the just the  cpu part of the APU and a off chip video card . its not just the  AUSU boards with the Issue, ive been seeing a few other boards in reviews about no video with DVI as boot up.  those were  last  month . ..

 

I ment to say not posting to DVI i have not tried HMDI and not going to. just came here to fix it _.  The rest still stands as iis for the now .

 

 

ALSO I noticed most the test done to some extent are in  fact as you say linux etc ...

SO, I kiind of agree it seems to be more of  a windows Issue then anything .. which made me remeber the SteelSeriesEngine driver issue when  WIN 8.1 came out , and how they fixed it a week before MS posted a fix. which made no sense imo .

 

 

I have the a88xm-a as well and a A10 7700 its not limited to the 7850 ether .

I tried the beta  13.35  driver same issues i hope it gets fixed soon i really want to try this out on my games with the APU in full use not just the CPU and a off chip  Video card.

 

 

 

 

 

I know its not the  APU  it is the  drivers, I have two of  the  A10 7700 APUS both have the same problem . I'm not gonna  go buy a new board from giggbit or some other company and still can't use it .

 

 

One last thought I allso poped in one of the  A10 s that are not a  Fm2+ socket ready,  FM 2 no Issue at all . DVI posts  memory loads in  DC to full no locks up . so to me thats says drivers for this APU.

 

From facebook to day so well see later today ,

 

"During the QA process, we identified an installation issue in AMD Catalyst 14.1 that renders it unsuitable for distribution for testing in your labs. We are testing a new build overnight and will update you on its status by mid-afternoon Eastern Standard Time on January 31. We apologize for the delay and appreciate your patience and understanding."


Edited: 02/03/2014 at 10:44 AM by toptek
 01/31/2014 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

Update) I tried replacing the motherboard with a gigabyte board.  I can't even get the gigabyte board to post at all.  ASUS emailed me saying a new bios update is available for the A88XM-A.  I will swap back and try it out.  I highly doubt its going to fix it -- the issue sounds like its a problem with the Kaveri and Windows.

 02/02/2014 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 11/18/2009

   

if its the one dated 1.29.2014 it does jack or A88XM-A 1102 BIOS . i don't  see what it does still can't  post with the DVI  port  memory still wont go over  8 gib  with some what stable  results. and the beta drivers 14.1   is really nice for my off chip  cards . the APU  video part is still as  bad for the FM2+  it seems to help with the FM 2 thu .  .And sense you said  that about  gigabyte boards ,  i ordered one after i said i wouldn't  but wanted  to know now i don't sadly may  have wasted  98  $  and have to  RMA it and use a off Chip video card which defeats what the  APU  FM2+ is suppose to do . I wil say :  if I  use a  off chip card and  the CPU part, it  is amzing and  handles  all my games well . and sense i don't play  BF 4  mantle is of little use to me .

 

all this does is still confrim what they tried  20 or less years ago still doesn't work with video onboard it never worked then and  it seem to   not be working now . it also  still seems it's  best to use a  separt video card , cpu and sound card for best  results over all  OCing  or whatever .  just my thoughts.  i hope im wrong  alwys have liked the idea of a  all in one thing.

 

 

 

one last thought why on earth would they sell a board with a bois that doesn't support someting or a bios that is dated  sep 2013 and then in oct  2013  they give us a bios  that at least supports the  APU  FM2+  but yet still ship the boards with no support  then say it supports the  FM2+.  it does sure if you your self , update  it . to me it doesnt for that fact alone just the  scoket does or  does it, no . it seems not  with all these issue and it's  all over the webb .

   


Edited: 02/03/2014 at 10:46 AM by toptek
 02/05/2014 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 11/18/2009

Update : got it all working with Windows 7 x64 it's amzing in game. I'm very impressed .. now that its working and booting the thu the  DVI port , i had to get this board http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132054 it seems right now any board below that  by  AUSU is  junk they let a  few ship it seems without testing them .

I also have this  board coming today due here anything for my other a10 7700  this board even says

FM2+ Ready

So all i have to do is plug in the APU . ...

 

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128656


 02/05/2014 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

update) I've updated the bios on my gigabyte  GA-F2A88XM-D3H

It now loads windows, but will eventually blue screen and restart.  I'm thinking about trying Windows 7.  It seems like Kaveri does not work with Windows 8.1

 02/07/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

I've installed all the newest drivers possible, and now Kaveri is stable with GA-F2A88XM-D3H.  I ran AIDA64 overnight for 8hrs.  I'm now overclocking it.  Voltage seems to make no difference to limits, so far the highest I can get bclk to is 104.  Highest HyperTransport i can achieve is 2000mhz.  I will be trying to max out memory next.

 02/08/2014 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRUE_candle
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/08/2014

Originally posted by: toptek Update : got it all working with Windows 7 x64 it's amzing in game. I'm very impressed .. now that its working and booting the thu the  DVI port , i had to get this board http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132054 it seems right now any board below that  by  AUSU is  junk they let a  few ship it seems without testing them .

 

I also have this  board coming today due here anything for my other a10 7700  this board even says

 

FM2+ Ready

So all i have to do is plug in the APU . ...

 

 

 

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128656

 

 

 

Well, would you mind helping me with an advice of how did you fix this issue.

I have the Same ASUS A88X-PLUS and AMD A10-7850K APU. Same issue after installing APU driver. Please tell me how did you solve it.

 

Thank you

 02/11/2014 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

my solution was to replace the ASUS with a gigabyte board. THe a88xm-a will not work with any BIOS.  From what I've read online the ASUS A88X-PLUS MAY work with the newest bios that was recently released.

 02/11/2014 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRUE_candle
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/08/2014

Originally posted by: TRUE_candle
Originally posted by: toptek Update : got it all working with Windows 7 x64 it's amzing in game. I'm very impressed .. now that its working and booting the thu the  DVI port , i had to get this board http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132054 it seems right now any board below that  by  AUSU is  junk they let a  few ship it seems without testing them .

 

 

 

I also have this  board coming today due here anything for my other a10 7700  this board even says

 

 

 

FM2+ Ready

So all i have to do is plug in the APU . ...

   

 

   

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128656

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, would you mind helping me with an advice of how did you fix this issue.

 

I have the Same ASUS A88X-PLUS and AMD A10-7850K APU. Same issue after installing APU driver. Please tell me how did you solve it.

 

 

 

Thank you

 

 

I've got the latest BIOS update like 2 weeks ago.

Do you know by any chance what version of that new BIOS update?

 02/11/2014 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

A88X-PLUS 1202 BIOS (2014.01.29)

 02/12/2014 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRUE_candle
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/08/2014

Originally posted by: r A88X-PLUS 1202 BIOS (2014.01.29)

 

 

That's what I got.

 

I will try from the beginning.

 

Wipe HDD, install OS,....

 02/12/2014 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

You may just have to replace it with a gigabyte.  I'm pretty disappointed in ASUS right now.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Accelerated Processor Units (APU) » A10-7850k - Windows Will Not Load

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
87499 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.