Topic Title: A10-7850k - Windows Will Not Load
Topic Summary: Windows 8.1 hangs on loading after upgrading to A10-7850k
Created On: 01/16/2014 10:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2014 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Condorman
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/12/2014

I'm having the same issue with a A10-7850k and GA-F2A88XM-D3H. Windows 7 and 8.1. Started wwith windowws 8.1 and was fine till I loaded AMD drivers. Thought it was possibly a memory problem but it hapen with either kit of ddr 3 I have. Tried slower timings. Going to pick up a set of 2400 sometime around payday. Have not tried to just use a single stick. What bios are you on on the gigabyte board? Otherwise I'm going to swap mobo and apu at microcenter.

 02/13/2014 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRUE_candle
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/08/2014

Originally posted by: r You may just have to replace it with a gigabyte.  I'm pretty disappointed in ASUS right now.

 

 

You know I have had this issue only by using HDMI cable, when i switched to VGA cable - everything works just fine.

Dissapointed though, I want to use HDMI. Don't know what to do.

 02/14/2014 12:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lessmeat
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/13/2014

I just bought Asus A55bm-e with 7850k, random lockup freeze, extremely disappointed. Google searched landed me here, so i guess Asus is the evil one here.

Have always liked Gigabyte, the first Asus will be the last. In fact, no more Asus product whatsoever.

 02/14/2014 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 12/11/2013

I actually have consistently had great success with ASUS until this board specifically.  In the future I would probably still pick them over gigabyte.  Just for some reason they really failed with the Kaveri support.

 02/15/2014 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/18/2009

 

 

Update :

it was those boards  it seems some of the boards are bad or were not tested and some of the GIGABYTE boards do in fact come out of the box FM2+ Ready,which supports FM2+/FM2 A Series APU's I know i bought this one and the site says it is and it is

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128656 FM2+ Ready,which supports FM2+/FM2 A Series APU' GIGABYTE

this board is really nice..but  this board be low  does not come out of the box FM2+ Ready,but  supports FM2+/FM2 A Series APU once you update the bios ..
 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132054 ASUS


'

warning,

 

at this time i don't remend ether of these baords below, if I  was asked ... i had to many problem with them . but the two above are awesome I am very , Pleased with them ..

 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132055 RMA 2


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132045 RMA 1





SO end results after getting the right board , FM2 + is awesome ...

 02/15/2014 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/18/2009

I've found it not so much the board its the baord model  the 108 $  board works best over the 92 $ baord, i posted  A text links below .. the 100 $  +  works from ASUS .. anything below that does not seem to work well with the FM2+ apu and no off Chip Video card , bit if I  use a Off chip  video card it's awesome but thats not how I plan  to use the APU . ...

 

 

 02/18/2014 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

I'm having similar problems with my a10-7850. I had asrock a88x fatality killer board updated the bios and I still couldn't get the display driver to work. It would crash the sec the driver would finish installing. So I took that board back and now I have ga-fa88x-up4 and it's doing the same thing. Once it installs the driver windows crashes and I can't get it to start back up. So I had to reinstall windows. As long as I don't install the display driver I can use my computer. The other weird part is when my computer crashes it shuts off and I have to flip the power supply button before it will power back on.

 02/19/2014 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
andrewd123
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/19/2014

My PC is doing the same thing on Windows 8.1 Pro. It hangs at the Windows boot screen with the little dots going around and around after installing the APU  video driver For my "A10-7700K". (Note: I previously tried the same thing with Windows 8.0 Pro with no issues) I am using an Asrock Fatal1ty FM2A88X+ Killer mobo with the BIOS updated to 1.70, I have one stick of Corsair 8GB RAM CMV8GX3M1A1600C11 and have not made any changes to the BIOS settings. I am able to system restore the PC to before the drivers were installed and the computer works OK using the "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter". I have tried using the drivers that came on the motherboard cd as well as the stable and beta drivers from the amd download page. Does anyone know what the problem is?

 02/19/2014 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

I wish I knew. If you find anything please post it and I'll do the same.

 02/19/2014 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/18/2009

have you all tried the beta drivers 

 

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx

 02/19/2014 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

Yes I've tried them.

 02/19/2014 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/18/2009

Originally posted by: Halyoder Yes I've tried them.

 

 

IF this helps any it may not I did a secarh on newegg for that board  it seems there maybe  some issue atm with Asrock board's  there is  some bad reports in the  reviews . id say call  the MB's  support or if it not to late return it for ether a refund or replacements ..

 

DID you try it with a video card and not the bulit in one on the  APU ? . if it boots up fine then i would say it is a MB issue and keep trying like i did ..

I was gonna suggest going for the 104 $ board over the one you have but I read the reviews it has worse issue  then your board does .

 

get a DIff kind of cheap 4 gib stick of  memory see if thats the issue like kingtons  they  allwys to seem to  work in any thing  ..

 

as for the power off thing  make sure its not over heating , your PSU is working  right and  as much as  i hate to admit this i had one shutting down, it was  how i installed it and  Im using it  now . but in my case i still don't know  how i did it, I acttlly srewed one of the srews to the MB  to the case  with no stand off, i was lucky all it did was shut down, i still don't how i did it or why  it even let me do it ..



Edited: 02/19/2014 at 11:47 PM by toptek
 02/20/2014 04:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Buckaroo104
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

Bummer, looks like I've got the same issue; sorry but nice to have company.  

As soon as I load the Catalyst 14.1 Beta or the non Beta (after removing the installed Catalyst) on the next reboot, I get the POST, the "Windows starting" then nothing...  PC runs but screen goes blank, no login screen.

Have to reload from restore or image.

Running an ASUS A88X-Plus with A10-7700.   BIOS1202.

Seems like an AMD driver issue?    Guess we wait.    I like AMD as well,  but really, common guys.



-------------------------

Asus A88X-Plus Rev 1.0; AMD A10 7700K  8Gb Crucial,  Samsung 480GB SSD, 600W Seasonic PS, Win 7 64.


 

 02/20/2014 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
andrewd123
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/19/2014

As an update to my previous post:

I reinstalled Windows 8.0 and upgraded to 8.1. This time I used the AMD Catalyst 14.1 beta v1.6 video driver. Everything is now working perfectly.

 02/20/2014 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toptek
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/18/2009

Originally posted by: Buckaroo104 Bummer, looks like I've got the same issue; sorry but nice to have company.  

 

As soon as I load the Catalyst 14.1 Beta or the non Beta (after removing the installed Catalyst) on the next reboot, I get the POST, the "Windows starting" then nothing...  PC runs but screen goes blank, no login screen.

 

Have to reload from restore or image.

 

Running an ASUS A88X-Plus with A10-7700.   BIOS1202.

 

Seems like an AMD driver issue?    Guess we wait.    I like AMD as well,  but really, common guys.

 

 

Mind if I ask which ASUS A88X-Plus  ? . there is two version one works and one doesnt with the A10,  dirvers or not ..

 

DO you have the  92 $ board or the 108 $  one    ...

 

the 92 $ one is junk for alot  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132055

the 108 $ version works great ,,   http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132054

 

 

Jwing ..

 

 



Edited: 02/20/2014 at 02:56 PM by toptek
 02/20/2014 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

Originally posted by: andrewd123 As an update to my previous post:

 

I reinstalled Windows 8.0 and upgraded to 8.1. This time I used the AMD Catalyst 14.1 beta v1.6 video driver. Everything is now working perfectly.

 

ive reinstalled windows at least 6 times now. And even before doing anything I've download and tried to install 14.1 and it crashes once the display driver finished installing. I'm so jealous yours is working. I've got 7 more days until I can't return this stuff. I may just take it back and go with intel.??????

 02/21/2014 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Buckaroo104
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

Certainly.

Unfortunately, it's the second, more expensive one.    I've lost count of the number of different AMD Catalyst drivers I've tried.   The only one that's worked was the original chipset drivers on the included disk.   Any other and I lose the DVI port (and my USB keyboard and mouse) right after the "Window's Starting" screen.

Starting to remind me of the not so good AMD 690 on board video chipset of a few years back.

Here's hoping to a BIOS or new video driver fix.

Logged an AMD Issue Report for what it's worth.   

Running a Win7Pro 64b box.   Looks like the Win8 folks are getting some success.

Cheers.

 



-------------------------

Asus A88X-Plus Rev 1.0; AMD A10 7700K  8Gb Crucial,  Samsung 480GB SSD, 600W Seasonic PS, Win 7 64.


 

 02/21/2014 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

What kills me is the people that have the same setup as mine and it works great. They even have videos up on YouTube. So what the hell am I doing wrong. I change motherboards so is my apu bad? I love that I got battlefield 4 for free but can't play the damn thing. 

 02/21/2014 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Buckaroo104
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

Too funny,  well.., perhaps not that funny.   That's exactly how I feel.   What the heck am I doing wrong  (or AMD or ASUS).

Kicked off a tech request with ASUS,  I've had luck with those before.   Will see.

Do your USB devices "go black" as well?

 



-------------------------

Asus A88X-Plus Rev 1.0; AMD A10 7700K  8Gb Crucial,  Samsung 480GB SSD, 600W Seasonic PS, Win 7 64.


 

 02/21/2014 09:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halyoder
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/18/2014

what do you mean go black?

AMD Support and Game » AMD Accelerated Processor Units (APU) » A10-7850k - Windows Will Not Load

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
80956 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.