Topic Title: New r7 gpu's
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/26/2014 12:33 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/26/2014 12:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jesustheog
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello, i was wondering if anyone could possibly fill me in. I was wondering if the new r7 265 or the r7 250x would be able to dual graphics with the new AMD A10-7850k apu. i was just wondering because the only gpus that can dual graphics at the moment are the 240 and 250 and i would like the extra preformance if possible! thanks! 

 02/26/2014 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TripleZero
Peon

Posts: 42
Joined: 03/19/2008

I can let you know by the end of next week. I am going to order an R7 250X this next Monday.

I doubt the R7 265 will work since the R7 260 and 260X do not. 

 03/03/2014 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TripleZero
Peon

Posts: 42
Joined: 03/19/2008

Well, sorry to say you cannot run dual graphics with the A10-7850K and an R7 250X. 

I did some tests with both cards.

Gigabyte R7 250 2GB Gddr5

Powercolor R7 250X 1GB Gddr5

I did some benchmarking(3d mark 11) and I noticed the 250X scored about 200 points higher than the 250+7850K in dual graphics.

I am going to do some real world testing with some games and whatnot to see how they compare.



Edited: 03/03/2014 at 10:38 PM by TripleZero
 03/06/2014 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Abettedshark
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/04/2014

Triple let me know how your game testing goes with the 250 i just ordered one from newegg and it should be here in a day or two SAPPHIRE 100368L Radeon R7 250 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 CrossFireX Support Video Card

  and i took your advice and updated to 1.80 bios on the mobo

 03/06/2014 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TripleZero
Peon

Posts: 42
Joined: 03/19/2008

Overall, I am getting similar framrates with either setup in BF4 and Planetside 2(I play these games the most).

A10-7850K + Gigabyte R7 250 2GB(dual graphics mode)

BF4 50-60fps with some drops into the 40's(medium settings @1920x1080 res)

Planetside 2 40-70fps with some drops into the 30's(medium settings also)

With Powercoler R7 250X 1GB (running discrete no dual graphics)

BF4 45-70 fps never below 45fps

Planetside 2 pretty much the same as running the R7 250 and APU in dual graphics mode.

Been running the APU @4.2Ghz with graphics clock @960Mhz and 1GB system memory shared for the APU paired with the R7 250 in dual graphics mode.

With the R7 250X installed, left all settings for the APU the same even though I cannot run in dual graphics mode.

I like the performance either way, though I do wish I had waited and picked up an R7 265 since they are now on Newegg. (pretty much an R9 270 but with 1024 shaders instead of 1280).

 

 03/07/2014 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slekkas
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/07/2014

 

Originally posted by: TripleZero Overall, I am getting similar framrates with either setup in BF4 and Planetside 2(I play these games the most).

 

A10-7850K + Gigabyte R7 250 2GB(dual graphics mode)

 

BF4 50-60fps with some drops into the 40's(medium settings @1920x1080 res)

 

Planetside 2 40-70fps with some drops into the 30's(medium settings also)

 

With Powercoler R7 250X 1GB (running discrete no dual graphics)

 

BF4 45-70 fps never below 45fps

 

Planetside 2 pretty much the same as running the R7 250 and APU in dual graphics mode.

 

Been running the APU @4.2Ghz with graphics clock @960Mhz and 1GB system memory shared for the APU paired with the R7 250 in dual graphics mode.

 

With the R7 250X installed, left all settings for the APU the same even though I cannot run in dual graphics mode.

 

I like the performance either way, though I do wish I had waited and picked up an R7 265 since they are now on Newegg. (pretty much an R9 270 but with 1024 shaders instead of 1280).

 

 

 

I have the same setup as you A10-7850k + r7 250 2GB ddr3 with 8gb ddr3 2400 ram. I play bf4 in medium but I don't get your frames. Can you send a screen shot of your bf4 video settings? Also witch gpu is primary? The r7 250 or the igpu? 

Thanks 

 03/07/2014 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TripleZero
Peon

Posts: 42
Joined: 03/19/2008

Originally posted by: slekkas  

 

 

 

I have the same setup as you A10-7850k + r7 250 2GB ddr3 with 8gb ddr3 2400 ram. I play bf4 in medium but I don't get your frames. Can you send a screen shot of your bf4 video settings? Also witch gpu is primary? The r7 250 or the igpu? 

 

Thanks 

 

First off, my R7 250 has 2GB GDDR5 not GDDR3. I use the R7 250 as primary with the iGPU as secondary.

I'll post up a screenshot sometime this weekend. Just figured I'd post real quick though.

 03/08/2014 12:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slekkas
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/07/2014

Originally posted by: TripleZero
Originally posted by: slekkas  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have the same setup as you A10-7850k + r7 250 2GB ddr3 with 8gb ddr3 2400 ram. I play bf4 in medium but I don't get your frames. Can you send a screen shot of your bf4 video settings? Also witch gpu is primary? The r7 250 or the igpu? 

 

 

 

Thanks 

 

 

 

 

First off, my R7 250 has 2GB GDDR5 not GDDR3. I use the R7 250 as primary with the iGPU as secondary.

 

I'll post up a screenshot sometime this weekend. Just figured I'd post real quick though.

 

[/q]

I don't think the ddr5 makes a difference since from what I read the memory speed will down clock to the slowest card. 

 

I just noticed something. If I use directx I get your frames. If I use mantle then I have around 30 frames. What do you use? 

Statistics
88930 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.