Topic Title: No Dual Graphics option in catalyst
Topic Summary: using A10 7850k and R7 250
Created On: 03/08/2014 04:23 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/08/2014 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

Hi All - Been at this for a few days now, here are my specs:

Graphics Card - SAPPHIRE Ultimate 100368USR Radeon R7 250 1GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History - 13.12 13.30 13.301 and 13.42

Operating System - Windows 8.1 64bit

Issue Details - Dual Graphics option is not available in catalyst control center.

Motherboard or System Make & Model - ASUS A78M-A FM2+ AMD A78 (Bolton D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Power Supply -
Antec Earthwatts 650w

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used - LG Flatron W2353V, HDMI

CPU Details - A10 7850K

Motherboard BIOS Version - 0504

System Memory Type & Amount - Team Xtreme 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200) Desktop Memory Model TXD38G2400HC10QDC01

Additional Details
This is a fresh install of Windows 8.1 fully updated. No matter what I try I cannot get the option to enable dual graphics to show up in catalyst.

I have tried the following with versions 13.12, 13.30, 13.301, and 13.42.

Both the 250 and IGPU show up in device manager. Catalyst lists whichever i am plugged into as the primary adapter and the other as disabled adapter. Switching on the fly causes catalyst to update accordingly.

Enabled the following NB options in the bios:

  • Multi gpu/surround [required for dual gpu]
  • Force igpu [tried auto as well]
  • igpu mem - 1gb
  • primary - igpu/pcie [tried both multiple times]
  • Ram is clocked stable to 2400 mhz [tried various clocks as well]
  • Mobo Bios is flashed to latest version

Added and removed the video card before during and after the catalyst install in every possible sequence while using display driver uninstaller in safe mode after removing catalyst from the system.

Used both dvi and hdmi connected to either the igpu or discreet video card as well.

Tried rebooting the system multiple times after a fresh driver install.

Read every post and watched every video i could find related to this issue.

Removed and readded both the 250 and igpu from the device manager a few times as well as cleaned any ghost devices out.

I have ran out of ideas. Am i missing something obvious here? Please help!!

 

 03/08/2014 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slekkas
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/07/2014

Originally posted by: konietzko Hi All - Been at this for a few days now, here are my specs:

 

Graphics Card - SAPPHIRE Ultimate 100368USR Radeon R7 250 1GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card

 

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History - 13.12 13.30 13.301 and 13.42

 

Operating System - Windows 8.1 64bit

 

Issue Details - Dual Graphics option is not available in catalyst control center.

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model - ASUS A78M-A FM2+ AMD A78 (Bolton D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard Power Supply - Antec Earthwatts 650w Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used - LG Flatron W2353V, HDMI CPU Details - A10 7850K Motherboard BIOS Version - 0504

 

System Memory Type & Amount - Team Xtreme 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200) Desktop Memory Model TXD38G2400HC10QDC01 Additional Details This is a fresh install of Windows 8.1 fully updated. No matter what I try I cannot get the option to enable dual graphics to show up in catalyst.

 

I have tried the following with versions 13.12, 13.30, 13.301, and 13.42.

 

Both the 250 and IGPU show up in device manager. Catalyst lists whichever i am plugged into as the primary adapter and the other as disabled adapter. Switching on the fly causes catalyst to update accordingly.

 

Enabled the following NB options in the bios:

 

  • Multi gpu/surround [required for dual gpu]
  • Force igpu [tried auto as well]
  • igpu mem - 1gb
  • primary - igpu/pcie [tried both multiple times]
  • Ram is clocked stable to 2400 mhz [tried various clocks as well]
  • Mobo Bios is flashed to latest version
Added and removed the video card before during and after the catalyst install in every possible sequence while using display driver uninstaller in safe mode after removing catalyst from the system.

 

Used both dvi and hdmi connected to either the igpu or discreet video card as well.

 

Tried rebooting the system multiple times after a fresh driver install.

 

Read every post and watched every video i could find related to this issue.

 

Removed and readded both the 250 and igpu from the device manager a few times as well as cleaned any ghost devices out.

 

I have ran out of ideas. Am i missing something obvious here? Please help!!

 

 

 

You have to install the latest catalyst 14.2 beta. I have a similar setup and mantle doesn't seem to work with dual graphics. Directx works but it's unstable. I've started a post just I little under this one. 

 03/09/2014 03:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

Thanks for the reply Slekkas.

Forgot to list 14.2 as already attempted. I tried it again anyway with a clean install of windows and no joy.

Still no option for Dual Graphics in the performance tab.

I am suspecting the video card may be the problem even though it is a 250.

I have heard of others getting the GDDR5 250 to crossfire successfully. This particular gpu im trying to dual graphics with has 512 stream processors as opposed to the other 250s with 384 stream processors.

Can anyone confirm or deny that this could be a potential problem? My thought was that this would match the A10 - 7850k's 512 stream processors..

 03/09/2014 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jngoi
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/09/2014

I got mine to run but the result was rather choppy . . . 

My BIOS settings:

Disabled IOMMU ( I read somewhere that it has conflicts with crossfire )

Overclocked my 1600Mhz Hyper X to 1866 Mhz at the BIOS after that set my XMP to profile 1 with Timings set at Auto.

Set Primary GPU: PCIEX or My discreet Graphic card

Integrated Graphic Unit: Forced

UMA buffer: 1 Gb

 

Attached my Monitor to the Discreet Graphic card

Used catalyst 14.2

My BIOS version used : F6 ( stock with my Mobo ) tried the F7 didn't work

My PC Specs:

AMD A10 7850K

Gigabyte A88X FM2+ G1 Sniper Killer

Sapphire Radeon R7 250 1 Gb DDR5 Boost

16 Gb Kingston HyperX Black CL 10 1600Mhz 

Aerocool VP Power 600watts 



-------------------------

My Broadband sucks!

Edited: 03/25/2014 at 09:24 AM by AMD Support and Game Moderator

 03/10/2014 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

discreetigpu

Gave it a shot but didnt work either. I'm at a loss. Going to hold this mobo suspect and return it. The gpu is cape verde based which is compatible. Heres hoping better luck with the ASRock Fatal1ty FM2A88X+ Killer.

Also, you should get 20% or more performance with 2400 mhz ram. Even more with dual rank as discussed in another post in this forum.

Thanks for the help!

 03/14/2014 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joeh4384
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/14/2014

I am having the same issue trying to crossfire my R7250 with my 7850k on a Gigabyte ITX board. I have the Sapphire Eyefinity edition which has 512 shaders. The boost edition that the poster above said works i think is the oland edition with 384 shaders. I do not know why there is so many versions of the same card that are vhastly different. Did you have any luck? I am about to try the fresh windows install next. 



Edited: 03/14/2014 at 05:20 PM by joeh4384
 03/14/2014 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

No luck with new mobo and ram.

I checked the sapphire support forums and there are multiple people having the same issue with the R7 250 Ultimate. The reason this has 512 shaders is because it is a rebranded 7750 (or really a R7 250X) and not a true R7 250.

After doing additional research, Oland is the supported chipset and not Cape Verde it would seem. A chart on wikipedia shows a true R7 250 will be on an "Oland" chip while R7 250X are on the "Cape Verde".

Initially when I installed this card it was showing up in device manager as a 7750 until windows applied the default driver and once ati drivers were in it was showing up as an R7 250.

Try checking if your chip is an oland or cape verde. We are probably having the same issue since they are both sapphires with 512 shaders.

I am getting a different R7 250 with the 384 shaders later today and will get back to you with the results and chipset.

 03/14/2014 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Regvic
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/14/2014

Have been following this with interest, I am in same situation, doing a new build.  I am running Oland but still have same result, depite trying just about everything.

Graphics Card - Gigabyte Radeon R7 250 (1100MHz), 1GB GDDR5 (4600MHz)
Model: GV-R7250C-1G1   Bios: F11

AMD Catalyst Driver Version 13.42

Operating System - Windows 8.1 64bit

Issue Details - Dual Graphics option is not available in catalyst control center.

Motherboard or System Make & Model - Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H Motherboard

Power Supply - Corsair RM-550 80 PLus Gold Power Supply

CPU Details - A10 7850K

Motherboard BIOS Version - F6Beta

System Memory Type & Amount - G.Skill Ripjaws Z F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3

Additional Details
Windows 8.1.

 03/14/2014 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

Interesting - does your card have 512 shaders or 386 shaders (or stream processors)?

 03/14/2014 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Regvic
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/14/2014

384

 03/14/2014 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

Your making me worried

What is your RAM clocked clocked at? If it is 1600 or less try raising it to at least 1866. Some people did not get the option until going beyond 1600.

 03/17/2014 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Regvic
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/14/2014

After a rebuild due to malware on one of the tool sites, I now have dual graphics working.  All I did was changed BIOS memory settings from Default of 1600 MHz/1.5v to Profile 2 option of 1.65V/2133 MHz  (not experienced in overclocking settings so have not changed timings) and Dual Graphics option was prompted immediately on next boot.  What has me curious is A10-7850k is rated at 2133 & Memory I selected was also rated at 2133, so why did the Bios default to 1600 MHz?  In any event it now works, at 2133  (with GDDR5).

 03/25/2014 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 538
Joined: 01/15/2011

1333MHz or 1600MHz are Fail-Safe, guaranteed working settings. Any modern computer will default to any of these settings to ensure your computer will work. Beyond (1866MHz, 2133MHz) is essentially all up to you afterwards. 



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 03/29/2014 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konietzko
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2014

It turned out the issue was with the video card. After replacing it with an oland based R7 250 i could use dual graphics. The performance was less than expected and ended up getting an R9 270

Statistics
84887 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.