Topic Title: apu trouble or just epic?
Topic Summary: having trouble with unreal based games
Created On: 03/28/2014 09:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2014 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niklasr
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/28/2014

hi just build a new pc with:

a8-5600k - tried both cat 13,12 and 14,3 beta.

windows 7 64

mainboard asus a88xm-a latest bios now but same issues withe the stock.

corsair 450w

hp f2304 lcd

8gb 2400mhz g-skill 2x4

the thing is when playing non unreal based games it runs like a dream but playing splinter cell conviction is like a very long slow motion sequence and borderlands 1-2 crashes afetr all the logo splashes and they are also unreal based.

reinstalled reverified all the files trough steam same issues persist so anyone with advise and/or experiance of this issues are welcome with their input.

ps. also tried to install 2 different older geforce cards that i know run these games but the resaults are the same, seems like the unreal engine does not understand the cpu part of the apu.

thanks in advance 

Nick

 

 

 

 03/28/2014 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Have you installed physx? Games with UE3 get all kinds of issues when it isn't installed.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 03/29/2014 05:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niklasr
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/28/2014

Hi yes that was actually the first thing i tried but iy did not help, also i cant activate aero and when trying to run a system rating i stops saying cant evaluate video playback speed,, getting really tired now

eidt: my son just noticed a wicked lag in minecraft also! starting to feel that the upgrade from his old dual core AMD was not worth it



Edited: 03/29/2014 at 05:58 AM by niklasr
 03/30/2014 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niklasr
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/28/2014

no suggestions hm well got a couple of days left until my 2 week return ends so will try a few more things but right now it seems like this will be a return and replaced with a new radeon instead since the old amd dual core system was rock solid and worked, just a little slow on the graphics side.

 

Statistics
86433 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.