Topic Title: AMD Radeon Memory
Topic Summary: Is A10 6800k CPU compatible with Gamer series 2133 Radeon memory
Created On: 01/03/2014 11:57 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/03/2014 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JCH
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/03/2014

I researched and studied for a while before I purchased components one at the time for my gaming build.  

A8 5600k APU,  Gigabyte f2a85x-up4,  700watt corsair PSU,  8G Corsair Vengance Memory,  Gigabyte R9 270 OC 2GB graphics.

I ran stock settings until recently.  I became familiar with terms and operation of system parameters for OC....it has been an experience as you all know.

Now I want to do some memory upgrades to AMD Memeory and APU to A10 6800k.

According to specs the A10 will support 1866 but the only gamer series memory is  2133.......

Will I be better off with the performance series 1866 rather than trying to make Gamer series work 

 01/04/2014 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12203
Joined: 04/17/2008

Since you are using a discrete video card, I wouldn't touch the memory at all since you will not gain any real world performance benefit. You'd be better off selling your 270, spending the $199 you would spend on memory and just a little bit more and get a 280x, which would nearly double your graphics power.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2014 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

A couple tidbits on memory frequencies...

RAM that is rated at a higher frequency - say 2133 MHz. as an example, will also run just fine at lower frequencies such as 1600 or 1866 MHz. The 2133 MHz. is the maximum frequency that the RAM is rated at to run stable. That doesn't mean your CPU can run the RAM at 2133 Mhz. without corruption however.

As far as RAM frequencies for CPU powered desktop PCs, DDR3 RAM running at 1600 MHz. is not a system bottleneck thus going to faster frequency RAM nets almost no system performance improvement and it's a poor financial investment as a result. Your money is better spent on a faster CPU or GPU if you have significant graphic needs.

The only exception to the above info. on desktop PCs is when they are APU powered. Higher frequency RAM up to approx. 2133 MHz. shows small system performance gains because the GPU section of the APU benefits from the faster RAM frequency - up to a point. The gains are small but some folks are willing to pay a premium for them. If however you are going to use a discrete Video card, just run 1600 or 1866 MHz. RAM and use the money for a better CPU or Video card.

While we're talking RAM it's worth noting that RAM latencies mean almost nothing now that we have DDR3 RAM running at 1333 MHz. and higher. Extensive testing has shown that the fastest RAM timings make almost no system performance difference compared to the slowest RAM timings. It simply doesn't matter now that 1600 MHz. RAM is no longer a system bottleneck even on a performance desktop PC.

RAM benchmarks show the "potential" of faster RAM frequency and timings IF the RAM were saturated all the time, which it is not. Thus even the fastest RAM only brings minute system performance gains and is so disproportionately priced vs. actual system gains that it's pointless to buy the very high frequency RAM for other than bragging rights.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 01/04/2014 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JCH
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/03/2014

Thanks for the updates on memory questions. There are so many options and I try to do as much research on my own........, that finally had to ask so I potentially didnt waste any more money at this point.

Your reference to 280x would be to same family of card just higher up the chain with the r9 280x series?? 

Thanks again!!

 01/04/2014 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12203
Joined: 04/17/2008

Aye, the R7 series is the more mainstream series whereas the R9 is the gaming series.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2014 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JCH
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/03/2014

Instead of selling the r9 270xoc 2GB ddr5 I just bought could I get another r9 270x and run them both with exactly double the graphics power I already have.

Or does does two cards put to much of strain on my system where one 280x would do the job?? 

 01/04/2014 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12203
Joined: 04/17/2008

One card with the power of X is always better than two cards with the power of ½X, as it depends on Crossfire scaling, which is not always great, for performance. There's also extra heat and noise involved.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2014 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JCH
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/03/2014

Thanks again....without having all the technical info being new to the computer building world.... I assumed it would cause problems with power and having to access two cards hence my question.

LOL!! want a r9 270 graphics card??  I will work towards getting a new graphics card!!

 

 

 01/04/2014 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12203
Joined: 04/17/2008

No, but plenty of people do, all the idiots cranking out fake currency which does nothing but make money for the electric company. I see several used ones on eBay which have sold for nearly the price of them new.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/05/2014 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JDB
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/05/2014

Hey JCH, I will buy that card from you. You don't happen to have 8GB of RAM for sale do you?

Statistics
84154 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.