Topic Title: Multiple W600 or V3900 into one unique PC
Topic Summary: IS it possible to install 2 x W600 or 2 x V3900 into one unique PC
Created On: 01/16/2013 09:26 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/16/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/16/2013

Hello Everyone.

For my business, I need to drive 10 differents monitors from one unique PC. The graphics are not power / CPU consuming and the 10 monitors are not synchronized. This is to display simple 2D MMI.

The resolution of each monitor will be 1920x1080 (it may be reduced to 1600 x 900).

My question : is it possible to intall 2 x W600 cards (or 2 x V3900) into one unique PC?

I'm not speaking about the power consumption or the PCIe slot (I'm targetting a HP420 or Z620 with 2 PCIe x16 slots and 600W PSU) but I'm speaking about the drivers.

Did someone tried this configuration?

Thank you very much for your support.

Kind regards

 

 01/16/2013 09:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

You could run 2 W600's in the same system and drive your 10 displays.  As you describe, they wouldn't be sync'd.  Just a simple extended desktop configuration would be alright.

Generally, if you are ever worried about driver compatibililty between different video cards, just review the release notes for the driver available for the graphics card.  It will say what products are supported.  If the two video cards you are interested in are supported by the same driver, you would be alright.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 01/17/2013 04:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/16/2013

Hello,

 

Thank you very much for the answer.

I'll go and try the dual W600 solution.

 

Regards

 

 11/24/2013 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infopath
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/24/2013

What motherboard would work best?

 

Statistics
85566 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.