Topic Title: sniping tools not working - psychedelic colors!
Topic Summary: Sniping tool & Prt Screen give weird colors
Created On: 12/31/2013 06:50 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2013 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
peegeenyc
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/31/2013

Hi all - I have a FirePro W5000 in a new built machine  and everything is great EXCEPT the Sniping Tool, which when you open it its fine, but click to use it ('New') and the whole screen turns crazy colors. Like a psychedelic trip.  You can just about make out the orifginal text, but all colors are completely weirded out.

I tried other sniping tools, rather than the generic Windows 8.1 tool, and get same result. Prt Screen - same.  Everything  else works perfectly. !0 bit pipeline, Spectraview monitor control, fully calibrated monitor, etc. Just no Sniping tool, and... I use that quite a bit.

Any ideas how to fix it?  I would rather avoid a re-install. For some reason inserting hte Windows 8.1 disk and asking it to repair, does not work. 

 

AMD FirePro W5000

Intel Core i7 4770K

Asus Z87-Deluxe/Quad LGA 1150 

NEC Spectraview PA271W

 08/29/2014 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deklund
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/29/2014

I have this exact same problem with a V5900 and  Dell U3014 monitor with windows 8.1.

If the card is switched to 8 bit mode, clipping works correctly, but this is a pain as it requires a reboot.

Can we get some help for this?  I use screen shots all the time...

 

 09/18/2014 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ChiSoju
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/18/2014

Same problem here, with a V4900 and a Dell U2713H. Having to reboot to do screen grabs is a pain.

 10/19/2014 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pranza
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/20/2008

same issue here:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=485&threadid=179441&forumid=11

 

as for reboot after toggling 10bit mode, you can have the same effect doing 'switch user' and then logging back in.

 10/22/2014 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emor
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/10/2014

Had this problem myself; reported it to AMD and their tech support was about to have me embark on a lengthy diagnostic path.

But, in poking around, I discovered that in the FirePro Control Center, under "AMD FirePro Settings", the
"Enable 10-bit pixel format support"
box had somehow become enabled.

Unchecking the box solved this problem! No more psychedelic cut-n-pastes!

 10/22/2014 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pranza
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/20/2008

yea, but 10bit pixelformat is an exclusive 'feature' of firepro's. and when it's turned on, something else gets ***** up. we need to find out if it's windows shortcoming or ati driver's bug.

and ati support will do anything but get to the issue. they will ask what's colour of your dog, is it raining outside, but never go check and reproduce the problem which everyone on firepro with windows has

 10/23/2014 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emor
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/10/2014

pranza, perhaps you're misunderstanding what I said:

UNCHECK the box that says "Enable 10-bit pixel format"
(that is, DISABLE the option)
in order to fix the issue.

At least, this worked for me.

You're right, this is only a symptomatic fix but it doesn't get to the root of the problem.

 10/23/2014 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pranza
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/20/2008

Yea, sure, Emor, I understood you correctly. Unticking solves the issue. But it also disables the feature But the feature is why firepro is more expensive. So we wanna know what's the deal with this issue and who oughtta fix it

Statistics
86657 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.