Topic Title: ATI Linux 64bit driver for Foxconn 5570 barebones - with AMD Radeon HD 7290
Topic Summary: "aticonfig: command not found" during Linux ATI driver install
Created On: 03/19/2013 01:09 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/19/2013 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbrayton
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2007

P { margin-bottom: 0.08in; direction: ltr; color: rgb(0, 0, 10); }P.western { font-family: "Liberation Serif",serif; font-size: 12pt; }P.cjk { font-family: "DejaVu Sans"; font-size: 12pt; }P.ctl { font-family: "Lohit Hindi"; font-size: 12pt; }A:link { }

I have the Foxconn AT-5570 which has the AMD Radeon HD 7290 video card. I purchased it with the free 64GB SSD drive and have the ram maxed out at 8GB.

It's running fine with Ubuntu 12.10 KDE with the exception of the video driver. I am unable to fully install the driver. I have tried both the normal driver and the beta one.

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.zip

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.2-beta7-linux-x86.x86_64.zip

I followed the steps on this website: http://askubuntu.com/questions/124292/what-is-the-correct-way-to-install-ati-catalyst-video-drivers-fglrx.

Everything seemed to go fine until I got to the step that said to:

Continuing with the installation, type: sudo aticonfig --initial

Message as below

user@Fox5570:~$ sudo aticonfig --initial

[sudo] password for user:

user: aticonfig: command not found

user@Fox5570:~$

Also at the lower-right corner of the screen there is a transparent logo that reads "AMD incompatible hardware" or something to that nature.

 03/19/2013 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You're supposed to install drivers from the repository, not from the AMD website. Believe me, your life will be much simpler.

The binary on the AMD webite is for people who fill these repositories, build and test these drivers before rolling out to the public.

Surely anyone can use the binary installer and it's actually possible to install it (unlike nvidia's) but as soon as a kernel update comes you have to do it again.

 

To answer your question:

1. You are no longer supposed to run aticonfig --initial. The installer makes default config for you. If you install from a terminal without X running, only then may you have to do it. If you can see the desktop and have decent resolution/colors, you're good to go.

2. The logo can be removed. There are 2 known methods both made by a guy known as Kano.

Script:

#!/bin/sh
[ "$(cat /etc/ati/signature 2>/dev/null)" = UNSIGNED ] && echo -n d164ca3e4bda6f7683e01cdf18df15c3: e94afc067af75f4fb2d12eeb79f225fae351fa0608f72e22cac029ed28ed21f7: b45dfe5f2db95f40b4817ae82db921a5b356ae0f79bf0a14b4d97aed2aea73a2b457ff0f2dbb5f40b3d87ae82aba27f1b205a90e79e30a12b1d879bb2ae e73f4 > /etc/ati/signature

Sorry, this stupid forum software doesn't even allow code tags...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/19/2013 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbrayton
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2007

Being a Linux noob, how do I install from the repository?  I'm not sure what that means.

Thank you in advance!

 

 03/19/2013 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You open the ubuntu software center or whatever it is called, look up the drivers there and install them from there. I haven't seen ubuntu for ages, so cannot give you step by step instructions, but I'm sure google can.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/21/2013 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbrayton
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2007

Thanks for the information.  I really appreciate it.
Statistics
85524 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.