Topic Title: Fail in Switchable Graphics AMD Radeon 6500
Topic Summary: Linux Swtichable Graphics
Created On: 03/23/2013 02:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2013 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
josejacomeb
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/23/2013

I have a Laptop with GPU RANDEON 6500 and Intel HD I have openSUSE 12.3 and I install the driver from the software center, all is ok but when I try to change the GPU(to Intel for maximize battery life) when I reboot only appears a BlackScreen of logon.

I suppose that I need to install Intel Proprietary Drivers, its true???

What I Can do???

Ati Catalyst Linux

 03/23/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6094
Joined: 11/13/2009

No...you need to install the drivers offered by the laptop manufacturer. AMD only offers generic drivers which will not work with custom "switchable" graphics. Read the sticky in the laptop forum. Also, while you are in the laptop forum, read some of the similar posts there. You could use the modded drivers, a link for which is in the laptop forum.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=161340&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/23/2013 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
josejacomeb
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/23/2013

The Problem is that HP don't support Linux...

Thank you for your answer...

 03/23/2013 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6094
Joined: 11/13/2009

You can try Intel's site..it has a auto-updater > http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Default.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/23/2013 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4282
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you ask around on the community forums of your distro. Also the linux section of the Steam Discussions would be a good idea. There are very few people with linux experience here.

My suggestion: If you don't use your computer for gaming, use open source drivers. They have decent power management as far as I know.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

Statistics
81005 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.