Topic Title: Crash on resume (latest 13.11 beta)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/11/2013 06:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/11/2013 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khilas
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/11/2013

My laptop (Dell Latitude E6540, Radeon HD 8790M) crashes when resuming from suspend on latest 13.11 beta 9.4 drivers. 

How can i submit and help debug this issue?

I'm on Ubuntu 13.10 64 bit.

 

 12/15/2013 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4881
Joined: 12/27/2008

I've never seen suspend/hibernate work on linux in the last 10 years. Not sure if 13.11.9.4 is to blame here or just a sloppy code in the kernel.

Do these features work when using the open source drivers?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/16/2013 04:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khilas
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/11/2013

I've never seen suspend/hibernate work on linux in the last 10 years. Not sure if 13.11.9.4 is to blame here or just a sloppy code in the kernel.

Don't agree! I haven't had suspend/resume issues for years with previous laptops. They had NVIDIA graphics cards though.

Do these features work when using the open source drivers?

Yes, using the open source (Intel) drivers suspend/resume works fine. 

 

 12/17/2013 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4881
Joined: 12/27/2008

Then you know what to do: http://www.amd.com/linuxreport



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/17/2013 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
khilas
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/11/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Then you know what to do: http://www.amd.com/linuxreport

 

Actually i didn't! Has i told you it's my first AMD card. Thanks!

Statistics
84907 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.