Topic Title: Random Freeze with R9 290 on Windows 7 and Debian 7
Topic Summary: Computer randomly freezes since installed R9 290
Created On: 01/13/2014 01:01 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2014 01:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
badmofo666
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/13/2014

Since I've installed the R9 290, my computer has been randomly freezing (screen freezes, audio stops, not responsive to keyboard or mouse input). Happens on both Windows 7 64 bit and Debian 7 64 bit with both Catalyst 13.11 Beta and 13.12.

Graphics Card
- Asus Radeon R9 290 R9290-4GD5

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

Tested on both 13.11 Beta and 13.12. Freezes on both.


Operating System
- Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

- Debian 7 amd64

Issue Details
- Computer/screen/audio freezes and is unresponsive to input.

- Seems to be more likely to happen while playing 3D games (), but also freezes when not.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- MSI 760GM-E51

Power Supply

- Seasonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W

- http://www.seasonicusa.com/M12II-Bronze.htm



Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Cheap HP monitor at 1600x900 resolution hooked up through DVI.

Applications and Games

- All applications and games seem to be affected.


CPU Details
- Phenom II 965 quad core. 3.4Ghz. All default clocks and voltages.

Motherboard BIOS Version
- According to MSI live update, I had bios version v3.5, but just updated to v3.6 to see if it fixed the problem. It did not.

BIOS Information
        Vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
        Version: V3.6
        Release Date: 10/26/2012
        BIOS Revision: 8.15

System Memory Type & Amount
- 2 4GB sticks. 8GB total.


Additional Details
- I'm guessing not everyone with this card has this problem, so it's probably some kind of weird issue with motherboard/bios/gpu/driver compatibility?

- Radeon HD 6850 works fine on same system with same drivers.

- When R9 290 installed, I get these error messages on linux boot (may be unrelated). I do not get these messages when HD6850 installed:

[    7.200875] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200882] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200887] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200891] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200894] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200898] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200901] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.200905] Too many HDMI devices
[    7.201014] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:707:40
[    7.201065] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:708:fedc
[    7.201314] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=2 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.201347] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:e0:f0d:0
[    7.201423] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=5 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.201491] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=7 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.201566] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=9 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.201623] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:f00:c
[    7.201671] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:709:0
[    7.201717] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:f09:0
[    7.201765] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=65116 Presence_Detect=1 ELD_Valid=1
[    7.201771] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:f2e:8
[    7.201818] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:709:0
[    7.201865] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:fe5c:f09:0
[    7.201982] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=0 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.202075] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=1 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
[    7.202153] hda_codec: cannot build controls for #0 (error -16)
[    7.202201] hda_codec: cannot revert codec
[    7.202822] snd_hda_intel: probe of 0000:01:00.1 failed with error -16

 

 01/13/2014 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ShinichiKudo
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/09/2014

I'm having the same problem so do others. It's a driver issue. They have to fix it but they're ignoring us and we have reported it 93285235times..

 01/13/2014 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

What about with other Linux distros such as Ubuntu?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/14/2014 02:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
badmofo666
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/13/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion What about with other Linux distros such as Ubuntu?

I have not tested on other distros (I only have Debian 7 on that system, and don't want to install another distro just to test). Since the same thing happens on Windows 7, I'd guess I'd still get freezes on other distros.

 01/14/2014 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: badmofo666 Since the same thing happens on Windows 7

Indicates the possibility of a hardware issue, as the windows and linux drivers are completely different. First you should try the card in another computer.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/28/2014 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
badmofo666
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/13/2014

Update:

(TL;DR version: Setting the "PCI-E Clock" to 150 MHZ on my motherboard seems to have fixed my issue. Can this harm anything?)

I RMA'd the card, got a new one, played the game Dishonored for 5 minutes, then my computer froze again. Either I'm extremely unlucky to get 2 bad cards, or there's some weird kind of interaction going on between my motherboard/GPU that's causing the instability.

So, I started messing around in my motherboard's BIOS:

I turned "Spread Spectrum" to OFF, and "PCI-E Clock" to 150 MHZ. Played Dishonored for 1 hour, ran FurMark for 30 minutes, ran the complete 3DMark 11 demo, and no problems occured.

I read that the PCI-E clock should always be 100 MHZ, so 150 MHZ is way above spec. Turned the "PCI E Clock" back down to 100 MHZ, leaving "Spread Spectrum" OFF, and my computer froze again after 30 minutes of just web browsing.

Turned the "PCI E Clock" back up to 150 MHZ, ran FurMark for 1 hour, the complete 3DMark 11 demo, browsed for 1 hour, and ran cgminer (mining Dogecoin LOL) for 24 hours now, and no problems.

So, setting the "PCI-E Clock" to 150 MHZ seems to have fixed my issue. Can setting the PCI-E Clock this high damage anything? If my computer freezes again, I will post an update.

 01/28/2014 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'd check for a motherboard BIOS update if I were you.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/28/2014 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suchluck
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/28/2014

It happens for me too. I have an MSI FM2-A85XA-G43 motherboard with Xubuntu 12.04 installed.  I have two XFX R9 290 cards installed using . It works okay with one card. Once I install two, I frequently see the freezing issues. The mouse and the keyboard both stop working for minutes at a time. Usually, they will unfreeze eventually.

If I apply all software updates to Xubuntu 12.04 (with two cards installed), then the system freezes during boot with the splash screen showing, but no login dialog.

If I try this with Ubuntu 13 (and two cards installed), then the system crashes during boot with a kernel panic. I see similar kernel error messages regarding codecs being out of range. With one card installed, I don't see the panic. It boots okay in that case.

Thanks for the PCI-E 150 tip. I'll try that. I'll also try updating the mainboard BIOS.

-John

 01/28/2014 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suchluck
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/28/2014

Meant to add that I'm using the Linux Catalyst 13.12 driver.

 

AMD Catalyst™ 13.12 Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver

 01/29/2014 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
badmofo666
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/13/2014

I was having boot issues on Linux when I first installed the Catalyst drivers without first uninstalling the old drivers. After uninstalling the drivers, deleting all the stuff the AMD APP SDK installer installs (APP SDK comes with the new Catalyst drivers), uninstalling all the OpenCL deb packages I installed from the stable repository, and then reinstalling the Catalyst drivers, the boot issues went away. I still have the "too many HDMI" messages, but I think that's a kernel issue (I don't use HDMI, so I don't know if it affects anything).

Flashing the motherboard to the latest BIOS was one of the first things I did. Didn't help.

I've put in a few more hours of gaming today, and still no issues with the PCI-E clock at 150 MHZ. If I had to guess what the problem was (and I don't really know much about these things), I'd say the problem is either 1) at the standard clock speed, my motherboard doesn't supply enough power to the PCI-E slot for the R9, or 2) there's some electromagnetic interference going on in the 100 MHZ range.

 02/16/2014 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Hi, I have the r9 290X as well and I'm getting these same issues. I tried to enter my BIOS on my motherbord to change the PCI-E clock though it doesn't seem to have the option to. On my AI Tweaker (M5A88-M ASUS Motherboard) It gives me an option to enable PCI-E Clocking but it wont allow me to set values. I do beleive this is resolve my issues because I was getting the exact same problems as you were. And now I wont be able to fix it because my MB wont allow me to set clocks for PCI-E.

 03/26/2014 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Soron
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/26/2014

I'm having the issue as well, brand new MSI R9 290 on Win 7 Ultimate x64. I tried using stock and updated drivers for both MSI and AMD to no avail. I used to have 2 Radeon HD 6850's in crossfire with no issues and got this single card as an upgrade for them. I am using an Antec 850 High Current Pro power supply which puts out 40A and the card only needs 31A. im putting my old cards back in tonight to make my system stable again. whats going on? any answers? I don't have a PCI-E clock to override. System freezes randomly even when im just sitting at the desktop.

Other System Info:

Mobo: ASRock 890GX Extream3

CPU AMD PHenom II x6 1100T, stock voltage & speed.

 



Edited: 03/26/2014 at 09:29 PM by Soron
 04/04/2014 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

I have random freeze ups as well Hardware is Gigabyte GA970A-D3P with Gigabyte Radeon 7790 dual head graphics card..

Debian 7 wheezy X84 and it happens in a MMORPG with intense graphics(graphics lockup) and on a couple of webpages(definite total lockup, magelo and riftapedia(?))

With the graphics lockup, I usually can ssh into the system from another maching, but is so bad, the system won't reboot(hangs), only halt.

My Xorg.conf.0.log usually has a bactrace error in it. Is there any point in posting that soewhere? If so, where?

TooMany HDMI erros can be fixed, as I originally had it, but I can not remember how.

 

 

Statistics
84842 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.