Topic Title: GPU Not detected - R9 290X
Topic Summary: Problem with R9 290X on ubuntu
Created On: 02/28/2014 01:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/28/2014 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deadpool
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/28/2014

Hi.

I have a problem which i cannot resolve, even after hours of research on google.
I want to run OpenCL applications on my machine (infos at the end of this post).
It has three R9 290X and an intel core i7, and Ubuntu server 12.04 LTS 64 bit.
I installed the latest driver (not beta version) for linux 64 bit and the latest AMD APP SDK.

Whatever the configuration, i have the following problem:
My cards are detected by
amdconfig --lsa
and can be seen with lscpci, hwinfo, in /dev/ati...
But clinfo only return my CPU. None of my GPU are listed.
I tried to launch the Hello World from amd app sdk samples, but same result:
No GPU detected.

I had some problem with X, after running
amdconfig --atapter --intial
I did some things from here:
https://superuser.com/questions/703209/cannot-get-ubuntu-13-10-to-work-with-amd-catalyst-13-12-black-screen

But finally my main problem is still here.

I hope someone can help, or else i'll surely turn mad!


Thanks.

---------------------
INFOS:


Graphics Card
I have 3 R9 290X
2 are plugged in pci 16x and one on 8x

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.12 for linux 64 bit (but i also tried 14.2 beta)

Operating System
Ubuntu server 64 bit.
I tried to swap to Kubuntu, without any good results.
I just went back to gnome.

Issue Details
Cards are detected by the system.
Can be seen by
lspci -v | grep VGA
hwinfo -gfx
amdconfig --lsa
ls /dev/ati
But clinfo only detect the CPU

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Just one screen plugged in DVI

CPU Details
Intel Core i7-4930k

 02/28/2014 02:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4851
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you visit the AMD developer forum and ask around there.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/02/2014 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deadpool
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/28/2014

I'm gonna repost it there, then.

Thank you.

Statistics
84337 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.