Topic Title: Linux Suggestions
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/11/2014 03:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/11/2014 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kon14
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/11/2014

Well the linux version of Catalyst doesn't seem to be anywhere near the windows one. There are huge gaps between the support of new Xorg versions and many things just don't seem to be working at all, though there are some stuff that could make the life of us, linux users, simpler. I don't mind keeping an old xorg version for half a year if that's what you require, but please do make the control center somewhat usable . The catalyst profiles seem to be a farce. Why not give us the possibility to create different settings profiles of our own? Like adding a new profile where I choose to override application settings for anisoptric filtering, though not for anti-aliasing etc. These profiles could later on be selected using a "Catalyst menu" in the panel, or a mini app which could be added to the right click menu in most GUI's or even added by users in openbox and other light desktop managers. All I'm asking is to be able to play different games without opening the control center and adjusting the settings once more.

 03/11/2014 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7299
Joined: 11/13/2009

I think your missing something here. When you create a game profile, you tie that in to the game .exe ..then when that game starts the profile you selected is applied.

You might want to read this



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/13/2014 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kon14
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/11/2014

Thank you for your response, I will check your method with an .exe launcher, though what happens when I'm using an .sh file to launch a game or a Java app? Should I make an .exe launcher for them? And if there's a game in Steam which I launch by Steam itself? By the way, do default setting reapply after killing the app? Sorry for being too bothersome.

 03/13/2014 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7299
Joined: 11/13/2009

This was the issue I responded to:

" The catalyst profiles seem to be a farce. Why not give us the possibility to create different settings profiles of our own? Like adding a new profile where I choose to override application settings for anisoptric filtering, though not for anti-aliasing etc. "

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/13/2014 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kon14
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/11/2014

The thing is that the AMD CCC doesn't consider non executables to be programs at all. Thus, I can't edit my settings for games like Minecraft (either by inserting the .jar file or an .sh launcher pointing towards it). I didn't post about a different issue on the same thread, I just remarked that the solution is unapplicable.

 03/13/2014 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7299
Joined: 11/13/2009

Eydee will be along soon..he is the resident Linux guru and I'm sure he can provide insight.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/17/2014 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kon14
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/11/2014

Update: Seems like the profiles are working when the control center is launched using gksu (or just root+xorg protocol). I think that using a notification message, such as the one used in the Display Manager section ("to make changes on this page, administrator access is required..."), instead of a general "Your profile could not be saved", would clear up any confusion on the matter.

@stumped: thank you for your help, hope I didn't get too arrogant

Statistics
86663 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.