Topic Title: Program to stress AMD970 chip(CPU to slots controller)?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/28/2014 04:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2014 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

I need a program tha will stress out the AMD970 chip on my gigabyte GA970A-D3P+AMF6300+16gb setup.

The AMD970 sits (controls all the comms) between the CPU and a slots and plugs. Basicall all CPU I/O except RAMM & Clk routes through it.

I need a programe(pref Debian compatible) that will stress it to demonostrate a fault for a warranty claim. The heat sink doesn't sit properly and it thermals out.

Normally I don't see any lockup unless I start playing a slash&kill, when the graphics load just sends the temperatures rising and no amount of fans can prevent it.

 

 

 04/01/2014 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dark Fief
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/29/2014

I highly doubt the stress test will give you the desired result which I assume is a refund? They will either help or they wont. If you are OCIng companies generally have no reason to refund your money as this voids warranties. I could be wrong. I use different hardware. But I would check the thermal paste.... Check frosty tech.com... The fx-6000 and up have the second ranked heatsink and cooler for amd cpus temp wise. My CPU idles at 17c



-------------------------

pffft Asus OEM, M51-BC
fx-8300 3.3-4.2ghz swapped HS w/ fx-6350
12gb ram
evga 760 gtx 2gb
92mm Noctua exhaust (rear) 92mm Delta 92 mm pull front bott
120m CA120 white led (wall pull)
92 Delta mm fr bot pull (ghetto holes drilt frt case) SS Pro SSD 128gb Win 8

 04/02/2014 05:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

It isn't the cpu, but the chip below it that I wanted to stress.

Running over 50deg C.

Anyway, issue dealt with.

 

 04/02/2014 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: terryc It isn't the cpu, but the chip below it that I wanted to stress.

 

Running over 50deg C.

 

Anyway, issue dealt with.

 

 

 

50 is nothing, so the issue is (was) something else.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/02/2014 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

Found a program to do that and yes, I'm back full circle wondering what excatly is going on. Really hamered by lack of full controls.

It appears it could just be a driver problem, but then again it might just be intermittently faulty hardware.

 

Statistics
84733 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.