Topic Title: Catalyst for Debian
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/11/2014 01:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2014 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2014

The AMD Catalyst notes page states the supported distros to be:

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Suite 6.3 and 6.4

SUSE® Linux Enterprise 11 SP3

OpenSUSE 11.4 and 12.1

Ubuntu 12.04.2 and 13.04

 

What needs to be done to get drivers working on Debian 7.4?

 

Ray



-------------------------

MB Big Bang-XPower II, CPU Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz x12,
GPU Sapphire 7770, RAM 32GB, 1 TB HDD, 4 ea 64 GB SSD, PSU 850W,
Windows 8, Debian 7.4 (wheezy) 64-bit, GNOME 3.4.2

 04/11/2014 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2014

The AMD Catalyst notes page states the supported distros to be: Red Hat Enterprise Linux Suite 6.3 and 6.4 SUSE® Linux Enterprise 11 SP3 OpenSUSE 11.4 and 12.1 Ubuntu 12.04.2 and 13.04 

What needs to be done to get drivers working on Debian 7.4?


 

I downloaded the Catalyst installation per:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Catalyst-Linux-Installer-Notes.aspx#

Then:

sudo sh ./amd-catalyst-13.12-linux-x86.x86_64.run --listpkg

which produces:

Debian Packages:
    Debian/sid
    Debian/unstable
    Debian/etch
    Debian/stable
    Debian/lenny
    Debian/testing
    Debian/experimental

Well, I am running wheezy, Debian 7.4.  So I tried:

sh ./amd-catalyst-13.12-linux-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Debian/experimental

which produced:

Generating package: Debian/experimental
Error: Distro Version entered incorrectly or not supported, use --listpkg to identify valid distro versions

I tried the same thing with Debian/wheezy, and got the same message.

Any idea if it just won't work with wheezy?

 

Ray

 

 



-------------------------

MB Big Bang-XPower II, CPU Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz x12,
GPU Sapphire 7770, RAM 32GB, 1 TB HDD, 4 ea 64 GB SSD, PSU 850W,
Windows 8, Debian 7.4 (wheezy) 64-bit, GNOME 3.4.2

 04/12/2014 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

Look for a repo with precompiled binaries and use it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/12/2014 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee Look for a repo with precompiled binaries and use it.

 

Eydee,

 

Thank you for your reply.  The drivers I am looking for are non-free and included in  nonfree installation; but they are incomplete.  The nonfree distro has ~400 AMD cards it supports but not the HD 7770.  Catalyst does include this card.  But it looks like the drivers must be built against the distro version it will be run in. 

Ray



-------------------------

MB Big Bang-XPower II, CPU Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz x12,
GPU Sapphire 7770, RAM 32GB, 1 TB HDD, 4 ea 64 GB SSD, PSU 850W,
Windows 8, Debian 7.4 (wheezy) 64-bit, GNOME 3.4.2

 04/12/2014 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

I meant a 3rd party repo with Catalyst. Like the Xorg-Edgers PPA for Ubuntu.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/12/2014 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 10/03/2013

Eer, what is the problem with just running it as root?

It is what I've been doing for alsmost the last year on my Debian wheezy system?

Initially it wasn't totally reliable, but installs and works okay now.

 

 04/12/2014 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2014

Terryc,

I run this in the root terminal.  Should that be sufficient?

Ray



-------------------------

MB Big Bang-XPower II, CPU Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz x12,
GPU Sapphire 7770, RAM 32GB, 1 TB HDD, 4 ea 64 GB SSD, PSU 850W,
Windows 8, Debian 7.4 (wheezy) 64-bit, GNOME 3.4.2

 04/13/2014 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 10/03/2013

Pop xhost + as user, then run the script  as root in a terminal.

You usally get some eort of gui and press a button of two and thats it.

 04/13/2014 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2014

# pop xhost
bash: pop: command not found



-------------------------

MB Big Bang-XPower II, CPU Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz x12,
GPU Sapphire 7770, RAM 32GB, 1 TB HDD, 4 ea 64 GB SSD, PSU 850W,
Windows 8, Debian 7.4 (wheezy) 64-bit, GNOME 3.4.2

 04/13/2014 11:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 10/03/2013

It should still run, in some fore, maybee with --force or something.

 

xhost +      <----

 

aptitude/apt-get search xhost

aptitude/apt-get install xhost

That means use either aptitude or apt get. I forget which one is the favourite for wheezy.

 

 

Statistics
84130 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.