Topic Title: Ubuntu 14.4 AMD A6-5200 + Radeon HD8570(how to make work good?)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/21/2014 09:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2014 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maestrodan
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

Hi, I have a notebook with AMD A6-5200 Kabini APU, GPU is Radeon HD8400 and Radeon HD8570 1gb, OS is new Ubuntu 14.04, and there is a problem.

I have Catalyst 14.3 beta installed, and I cannot use discrete GPU, in bios it's active, Windows 8.1 devprew can use it, but in ubuntu ccc does not show any information about this gpu and there is no option to choose GPU. Only one about 8570 is in display options of ccc, with "not known display Radeon HD85000 series".

How can I solve this?

And I need to use opencl on my laptop, but it works in blender only when onle HD8400 active in bios. I need to use both GPU in same time in opencl.

Can everybody help me?

Sorry for my English, I'm from Ukraine.



Edited: 04/22/2014 at 12:46 PM by maestrodan
 04/24/2014 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

Support for switchable graphics under linux is bad and have always been. Same for nvidia optimus.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/26/2014 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maestrodan
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

but how to use hd8570? at least, only it(without gpu from apu)

 04/27/2014 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smuggly
Peon

Posts: 30
Joined: 01/24/2011

in dual graphics you always default to the highest # of card or adapter (APU)



-------------------------

Thanks Smuggly

Statistics
84884 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.