Topic Title: Linux and 14.10 Catalyst Driver
Topic Summary: Unable to get screen to match monitor size
Created On: 05/21/2014 02:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2014 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mazate
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/13/2012

I just successfully installed Catalyst 14.10 in Ubuntu.  As is usually the case on a new install of an AMD video driver, I have a black border around my screen.  Normally I go into the CCC and adjust the screen to increase up to the size of the monitor and we're ready to go.  This version of the CCC doesn't have that setting.  On the save menu where that setting would normally be in the CCC, there is a drop down menu with "Scale image to full panel size" which is already selected by default.  So, I'm stuck.  If anyone has any advice on how to resolve this problem it would be most appreciated.

 05/21/2014 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leiru
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/21/2014

Open a terminal and:

 

sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-val=MCIL,DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan,0

You are welcome

 05/21/2014 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Dear time traveler, no spoilers, please. We'll see what 14.10 will be like in October. Until then, keep silent, rather tell us some info to win the lottery...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/21/2014 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mazate
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/13/2012

Originally posted by: Leiru Open a terminal and:

 

sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-val=MCIL,DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan,0

You are welcome

This is what I'm getting when I try that command.

:~$ sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-val=MCIL,DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan,0
No layout section was found in the file: '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'.
Please run 'aticonfig --initial' first or modify your configuration file manually and run aticonfig again.
aticonfig: parsing the command-line failed.

 

 

 05/21/2014 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mazate
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/13/2012

Originally posted by: Eydee Dear time traveler, no spoilers, please. We'll see what 14.10 will be like in October. Until then, keep silent, rather tell us some info to win the lottery...

 

Catalyst 14.10, not Ubuntu 14.10.

 05/22/2014 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leiru
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/21/2014

Run twice the installer, as I dont know why the 1st time does not install well. It seems that is not finding the X config for ur card , also happened to me and more ppl.

 

try running the installer again and then the command I told you.

 

Tell me if it works

 05/22/2014 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mazate
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/13/2012

By the way this is catalyst 14.4, not 14.10.  My mistake originally.

 

Having said that, I will try again when I get home which will be several hours.  I'll let you know the results.

 05/23/2014 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Mazate
Originally posted by: Eydee Dear time traveler, no spoilers, please. We'll see what 14.10 will be like in October. Until then, keep silent, rather tell us some info to win the lottery...

 

 

 

 

Catalyst 14.10, not Ubuntu 14.10.

 

There won't be different octobers for Catalyst and Ubuntu...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/24/2014 02:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franx1508
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2009

Originally posted by: Mazate I just successfully installed Catalyst 14.10 in Ubuntu.  As is usually the case on a new install of an AMD video driver, I have a black border around my screen.  Normally I go into the CCC and adjust the screen to increase up to the size of the monitor and we're ready to go.  This version of the CCC doesn't have that setting.  On the save menu where that setting would normally be in the CCC, there is a drop down menu with "Scale image to full panel size" which is already selected by default.  So, I'm stuck.  If anyone has any advice on how to resolve this problem it would be most appreciated.

 

http://support.amd.com/it-it/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86#amd-catalyst-packages

 

 

problem solved with new package 14.10.1006.1001 try it ;-)

 

 06/28/2014 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smuggly
Peon

Posts: 30
Joined: 01/24/2011

problem is not solved yet. I tried 14.6 Beta & 14.4 & no Luck. there is no Overscan Slider..



-------------------------

Thanks Smuggly

 06/28/2014 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MooParadigm
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/28/2014

Mazate, I had the same problem. After an hour of reading through the aticonfig info, I came up with these commands to fix it:

     sudo aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp9,sizeX:1920

     sudo aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp9,sizeY:1080

 

My system hung after entering the second command, but when I rebooted the display finally came up correctly.

dfp9 is the DISPLAYTYPE. If that doesn't work for you, you can query the system for the display type with:

     xrandr -q 

 

Again, this is what worked for me.  Your mileage may vary.

 

-- MooParadigm



Edited: 06/28/2014 at 10:56 AM by MooParadigm
Statistics
85439 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.