Topic Title: Linux and amd dual graphics
Topic Summary: How do I use amd dual graphics on Ubuntu 14.04?
Created On: 06/02/2014 05:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/02/2014 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Darth Revan
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 09/26/2010

How do I enable amd dual graphics on Ubuntu 14.04.

 

P.S.: Amd, please improve your linux support, those drivers are about 5 years behind Window's drivers.

 06/03/2014 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

No one ever used it before Steam for linux went live. It takes time to catch up...

As far as I know dual graphics should work. Does your CCC say nothing about it?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/04/2014 04:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

Which driver are you talking about?

I use the drivers from AMD, proprietary binaries.

There are a number of ways involving aticonfig/xrandr. Apologies if I'm a bit hasy but some rubbish gear from Gigabyte took some time to sort out.

If you run aticonfig --initial=dual-head  --something=horizontal then start Cm you will end up with two different screens, one one each mnitor, unable to move a window from one screen to the other. The advantage pf this is you can swap to a different workplace on one screen while the other stays the same.

If you start X then run aticonfog/xranad after X starts, then you'll end up with one screen ov

xfce handles the second ocat and the first basically(workplace laves van not be changed).

 06/04/2014 05:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: terryc Which driver are you talking about?

 

I use the drivers from AMD, proprietary binaries.

 

There are a number of ways involving aticonfig/xrandr. Apologies if I'm a bit hasy but some rubbish gear from Gigabyte took some time to sort out.

 

If you run aticonfig --initial=dual-head  --something=horizontal then start Cm you will end up with two different screens, one one each mnitor, unable to move a window from one screen to the other. The advantage pf this is you can swap to a different workplace on one screen while the other stays the same.

 

If you start X then run aticonfog/xranad after X starts, then you'll end up with one screen ov

 

xfce handles the second ocat and the first basically(workplace laves van not be changed).

 

Dual graphics is not having multiple screens, it's a "weak" form of crossfire between an entry level video card and an APU.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/04/2014 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Darth Revan
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 09/26/2010

When I first installed proprietary drivers, CCC had a crossfirex option, but it was greyed out. I tried to create crossfire chains and whatnot with aticonfig, but I'm pretty sure it's not working; have no way to check though. Also, I get about 5 amd vi: page fault errors per second, so I'm using windows right now. Shame that AMD support for linux is so bad I really don't like Windoz 8

 06/05/2014 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terryc
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/03/2013

 

 

Dual graphics is not having multiple screens, it's a "weak" form of crossfire between an entry level video card and an APU.

 

 

So what exactly is cross fire?

And what is it good for?

 

 06/05/2014 10:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: terryc  

 

So what exactly is cross fire?

 

And what is it good for?

Google, wikipedia, amd.com and a lot of other sites can explain better than I can. Do a little research.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/10/2014 01:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sarobi
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/19/2010

So do dual graphics work under Linux?

Statistics
85448 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.