Topic Title: High CPU usage Enduro discrete card CCC Steam on ubuntu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/06/2014 10:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StarAurryon
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/06/2014

Hi,

I have an issue with enduro. With my integrated card (a10-5750m with radeon hd 8650g) on ubuntu 14.04 everything works fine with 14.4 or 14.6 beta. But if i use my discrete one 7970m steam or catalyst control center use at minimum one core at 100%. With this behaviour games are unplayable.

Please solve this driver issue.

StarAurryon

MSI GX60 3AE

 07/07/2014 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Why do you think it's a driver issue? Both cards use the same driver. Why would one do it and the other not? I suggest you fill a bug report on Valve's github page.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/08/2014 06:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StarAurryon
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/06/2014

As I said, it also happend with catalyst control center with discrete card but not with integrated one. It seems that's an enduro issue as the two card share the same libGL, etc ... But one core at 100% for catalyst is a little bit strange for such activities, isn't it.

 07/08/2014 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I posted a link to the bug report form in your other thread, feel free to report this one as well.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/15/2014 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StarAurryon
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/06/2014

Ok. The problem happends only as regular user. When your are logged as root there are no problems at all. It doesn't seem to be related to Ubuntu distribution as a Gentoo user with a GX60 previous release has the same problem.

StarAurryon

 10/06/2014 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StarAurryon
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/06/2014

Ok, Again 2 new version of Catalyst: 14.9 and one with openCL 2.0 support. Problem is still here. A ***** YEAR AMD. until 13.8 the problem is here. How would you still have high end users with such ***** bad drivers. I'm 20 and in my whole life i have bought more than 20 ati// AMD graphic cards for building PCS of my family. Shall I go to Nvidia. It seems you whishes to. If the next version is not correction this bug I never buy AMD again. You got several problems when you bought Ati with crysis. I have waited a year. I won't wait 3 years in my life to have a fully working product. 10 repports in amd survey and nothing. GG AMD

 01/07/2015 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StarAurryon
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/06/2014

Thanks to this new release Omega 14.12, nothing has changed. I have also noticed that user with the same cpu and other discrete card but with another laptop have the same problem.

 01/08/2015 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jsmith14
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2015

Same Problem here using latest Omega 14.xx drivers, Steam uses 25% cpu minimum or exactly 1 core of my 4 core cpu, just sitting there, even when minimized. it will go from 25% - 28% cpu usage just sitting there, which it normally should be only using 1 - 3% just sitting there.

Oddly enough, compton, a compositing window manager uses 25% cpu minimum as well, but only when vsync'd to opengl. If I run it without vsync'ing to opengl, it doesn't even use 1% cpu.

Anything that uses Opengl seems to use an entire core no good reason.

This problem causes games such as CS:GO to stutter making it unplayable at times due to the CPU being severely crippled, because steam uses 25% cpu for no reason, CS:GO uses 25% for no reason, this leaves CS:GO only half the cpu to actually do stuff with.

 01/09/2015 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dormon
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/02/2014

I reported this bug here and it was confirmed. It should be fixed ASAP.

http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1131

 01/09/2015 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jsmith14
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2015

Originally posted by: dormon I reported this bug here and it was confirmed. It should be fixed ASAP.

http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1131

Great, this is indeed the same bug because when i run compton window manager as root vsync'd to opengl, suddenly it magically doesn't use 25% of my cpu anymore, not even 1% as root. I really hope this gets fixed soon, running Steam as root or getting steam to launch games as root is not possible I think, so it's really bad performance until it's fixed.
Statistics
90268 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2015 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.