Topic Title: Recommendations for a new monitor?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/03/2012 08:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/08/2013 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12114
Joined: 04/17/2008

As well as the ability to daisy chain and expand with an external hub (which don't exist yet, or at least I haven't found one). I do like the self locking cable compared to the screw in type, it's something I wish HDMI, SATA, and USB cables had as standard as well. But I digress. DP is a thinner cable, and is the future.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/09/2013 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1277
Joined: 07/13/2009

DP doesn't support higher resolutions than Dual-Link DVI.  The only difference you can see is that DP takes longer to initialize. 

Though there was a period of time a short while ago when the driver was unable to display a resolution of 640x480 (for an old game) on my ZR30w over DP, but was on my LP3065 over DVI via an active DP adapter.  That was when I used the XFX 4GB 5970 which had six mini-DP ports. 

 

 01/09/2013 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12114
Joined: 04/17/2008

Alright, monitor is getting on my nerves. Today I go to cut it on, won't turn on, have to unplug and replug to get to to turn on, and while gaming it blacked out twice for about 2 seconds each time. I switched to a DVI cable in case it was just a DP issue (doubtful, but it is basic troubleshooting), but it looks as if I might have to test that warranty...Sounding like a faulty control board or power supply.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/29/2013 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12114
Joined: 04/17/2008

Wanted to revive this topic to say that apparently I WAS having issues, the blasted thing died on me today, wouldn't turn on (I'm on my laptop now). Called HP and after a transfer to the right department because the product number on my monitor points to a HP Pavilion Elite desktop which is...wrong, they said it was most likely the power supply and are going to attempt to overnight a replacement. They said they could get a tech out to replace it tomorrow BUT they can't say when he will be here and I've got to...work. Waiting on a call back from him right now to see what we can do. Maybe I should have got the Dell UltraSharp, it was just on sale for $100 cheaper than I paid for this HP and is about $80 cheaper now.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
AMD Support and Game » Upgrade Advice » Recommendations for a new monitor?

<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
83862 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.