Topic Title: Need suggestions on a CPU and MoBo
Topic Summary: Yes, I know, I fell off the edge of the earth. I blame that Maine fisherman again....
Created On: 01/17/2013 11:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2013 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Ok, I have a little extra money this month, and I'm anticipating a decent tax refund again, soI'm going to go ahead and update the core of my system, ie. CPU and MoBo. A friend of mine already gaeve me 16GB of DDR3 Ram, not the fastest stuff, but it'll hold me over a few months.

I've decided to go with the best, the FX-8350, so anyway, my big hangup is the Mobo.

 

CPU: AMD FX-8350 Vishera

Mobo: ???????

Ram: 4x4GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz, 9-9-9-24 1.5V

GPU: MSI N570GTX OC Twin Frozr II

PSU: ThermalTalke Tough Power 750W

Audio: HT|Omega Striker 7.1 Sound

Cooler: Antec Kuhler 920

 

I'm going to try and pick up this tomorrow afternoon, so I know this is a short notice request for recomendations, but that's about the only time I can run over to Microcenter for the buy.

 

They have a Combo offer on an AMD FX-8350 BE and  an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX.

 

Over the years I'v gotten picky on motherboards, I'll admit, I can be difficult, my old friends can attest.

 

No ASRock or MSI suggestions. Had a bad falling out with ASRock, and I don't trust MSI. I loved Gigabyte in the past, butI'd like to have a board with a UEFI BiOS, because it's new and shiney, no other real reason/ I want cool running, and a decent warranty (this is where I get leary on ASUS). Total package I'd like under $300, but seeing as I'm about (pending a truck with stock on it) to get the Sabertooth bumdle tomorrow, I'll go as high as $320 as the price to beat.

 

Again, sorry for the short notice request, but again, if that truck is empty tomorrow, I'll have more time

 

Thanks!

 

 

 



-------------------------

 01/18/2013 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If you want to stay away from the "hybrid EFI" setup that Gigabyte uses, the Sabertooth might actually be your best bet.  Last I heard Gigabyte was still holding out on a complete UEFI board, for some reason.

I haven't been paying much attention to the whole EFI vs BIOS thing personally...



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/18/2013 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

My understanding is that uefi has room for a lot of growth, where bios is now totally bastardized. Had size limits, number of sensors, etc. Again, all I heard was new and shiny.

-------------------------

 01/18/2013 11:20 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12545
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would go with the ASUS. I've nothing but good experiences with em, and on this forum over the years Gigabyte boards seem to crop up more in problem posts (though that doesn't necessarily mean anything on here). Reviews over the years put equal chipset ASUS and Gigabyte boards about equal, but with the combo deal, I'd get it.

UEFI is...well, maybe I'm just to old school, but having used a UEFI on the ESC motherboard in the system I built for my uncle (Socket FM2), it was slow, clunky, and looked like it had been designed by a 3 year old. Might've just been the cheap ECS board though.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/18/2013 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

Go with the Asus Sabertooth R2, unless you have more to spend.  I have had 0 issues with the board.  The UEFI  is so easy.  I feel it was money well spent.  Just a thought, there is no IDE hookups, so if any optical drives need to be  SATA. I have also heard they are going to do another REV to PCIE 3.0 lanes. But since you do not have a video card like that, maybe not. 

http://www.techpowerup.com/178545/ASUS-Unveils-World-s-First-PCI-Express-3.0-Motherboard-for-AMD-Processors.html



-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64



Edited: 01/18/2013 at 12:18 PM by Ed6698
 01/19/2013 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Struck out. Microcenter was out ofstoc, and Frys only had openbox

 

Raninto a guy at Frys, who was scarily familiar withthe sabertooth boards. Told me the r3 would have increased cooling, moresensors, and of coursethe PCIe 3 lanes, soI should hold off till then. I'm inclined to agree.

 

 

That being said....

At Microcenter, I could have gotten the Crosshair V Formula board for $195 bundled to the 8350 at $199. That's way over my budget, especially when you factor in 8.5% tax. However, it is enticing.... thoughts?



-------------------------

 01/19/2013 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

I would wait if you can. I got my new mb and cpu back at release date of the 8350. I kinda wish I knew about the new revision, because my video cards are 3.0. Oh well, I could always keep my R2 as a spare and use my old MSI NF980 mb for another family member upgrade. I always keep one full system back of components just in case. I will just wait until it comes out, I don't really think it will make that much difference going from PCIE 2.0 to 3.0, but if the price is not to bad I might. Gives me time to research how much of a difference it will make.

I know I do like the R2 version. I am limited on my max oc, because I only use air cooling. I am not messing with wc, and I considered a H100, but I don't feel like mounting it in or out of my case. My cooler is good for about 4.8ghz on air max, then heat starts becoming a issue only if I stress test it.  I run @4.5ghz as my everday oc with no single issue at all, temps and everything are fine even at  100% load of Prime95. P95 is a little tougher to get stable with the Vishera cpu for some reason, and can be read about if you google it. But I have P95 pretty much stable I would say, I had a run of over 30 hours and and no errors or core drop outs, I just stopped it, temps were all fine. IBT and OCCT passed no problem.

 

 



-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64



Edited: 01/19/2013 at 01:32 AM by Ed6698
 01/19/2013 01:24 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12545
Joined: 04/17/2008

The Crosshair is a great series of boards...You wouldn't have PCIe 3.0 but single GPU cards have a ways to go before they saturate 2.0. But for $400...I'm just not sure you would see $400 worth of improvement considering the way the bulk of games seem to be made these days, and that GTX 570 video card would tap out before the CPU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/19/2013 01:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

All depends on the game, right now I'm very CPU limited, and with ski finally available on and boards, I can always pick up another 570 cheap. yeah, I think I'm going to wait for Mondays shipment, see if they get any of the r2 boards, if not, I wait. I wish there was a date for the gen3 board though.

-------------------------

 01/19/2013 11:20 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12545
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds about like me. I just found out I'm getting a nice tax refund and aside from a new windshield for my car I've been looking at upgrading. I'm about tapped out on the CPU for this board, only beta support for Bulldozer chips and none for Piledriver. I've been waiting to see what the HD 8000 series brings before I look at getting an HD 7970 (I know I've been saying I'll wait for DirectX 12 cards but I dunno). This 5970 has the power, but at 1GB VRAM, inefficient VLIW5, and the drawbacks of Crossfire, it's just not able to tap into it, and $419 is still a large price to pay.

Be interesting to see what you'll do though.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/19/2013 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

haha, I slept on it....

 

Order made through the egg. they offered $15 off the CPU via promo, and they had $10 off the board. All said and done, factoringin local sales tax, I was higher by $5...woopty dooo.

 

I'm hoping to get another 3yrs lifeout of this CPU/Mobo combo, my requirements are getting lower and lower, lol.



-------------------------

 01/19/2013 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

What you need to do now is get yourself a nice ssd or 2. Even if it is just for the OS. I have 2 now 1 for OS, 1 for games and stuff.  Use the regular drives as storage.

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 01/19/2013 03:51 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12545
Joined: 04/17/2008

1 for OS (VertexLE), one for games/media (Vertex 4), one for temp files/page file (Vertex Plus R2). Not missing conventional HDDs one bit!

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/19/2013 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Ed6698 What you need to do now is get yourself a nice ssd or 2. Even if it is just for the OS. I have 2 now 1 for OS, 1 for games and stuff.  Use the regular drives as storage.

 

Someday, still waiting for the prices to dropa tad more, lol. I do have my two Barracuda XTs Short Stroked, makes fora hellof an increase, especially on RAID0, but yeah, no SSD. Still, I do get a 6.2 rating in Win7 with a conventional drive, which I thought wasn't possible. lol. I hate having multiple directories though, and XPlane takes up a loooot of room, so I'd need a large Primary OS+Xplane SSD.

 

Anyway, thought I'd explain why I'm not going to wait for the Gen3 Sabertooth.

 

After some late hour research, I found out what makes the Gen3 R2.0 board soooo Gen3. They have to add a second level controller to permit PCIe 3.0, which means taping and bondoing it onto the 990FX NB. This is why it has increased cooling, and a more stylish larger heat sink. My thought there is, great, another potentiual choke/problem point. I know the R2.0 board is good, so it's a safe bet.



-------------------------

 01/19/2013 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

I noticed your RAM choice was a wee bit on the slow side of things...   I think you would notice a nice boost in performance going to 1866 or Higher. 

 

I run on auto settings for everything but my RAM and the 8350 has enough mutli's to take fast RAM upto 1866 and beyond.  I run my 2GHz RAM at 1866 since it's just too much of a pain to work on getting up to full speed    But I could not imagine running this fast CPU with 1333 RAM

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/19/2013 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Waiting on stuff that doesn't have a release date is an annoying thing to do, anyway. 

The crosshair series certainly are popular.  I've seen a lot of build logs using them over the past few months.  Popularity isn't a guarantee, but it usually means that the thing will not suck. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/20/2013 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer I noticed your RAM choice was a wee bit on the slow side of things...   I think you would notice a nice boost in performance going to 1866 or Higher. 

 

I run on auto settings for everything but my RAM and the 8350 has enough mutli's to take fast RAM upto 1866 and beyond.  I run my 2GHz RAM at 1866 since it's just too much of a pain to work on getting up to full speed    But I could not imagine running this fast CPU with 1333 RAM

 

QB

 

It was free.....

 

lol, that will hopefully be upgraded when I have my next chunk of disposable income, until then, it's faster than what I have.

 

Yes, another deal breaker on Gen3 was the fact that it was another mystery date.



-------------------------

 01/20/2013 12:41 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12545
Joined: 04/17/2008

It does beg another question: When will AMD update its chipsets? The 900 series is just a rebadged 800 series which is starting to get a little...well let's say dated, 2008 was a long time ago in computer years, we were still dealing with the embarrassing HD 3000 series GPUs then...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/22/2013 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Next Question....

 

Windows 8 Pro

 

-or-

 

Windows 7 Ult.

 

I have Win8 Pro on my other PC, but I have a chance to migrate itover on this build. The question is, should I? I like it, but I think it needs a touchscreen. seems unnatural without a touchscreen. I'm not worried about that. Just curious on compatibility, core scheduling, all the fun techy geeky stuff.



-------------------------

 01/22/2013 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If you already have Win8, then you might as well give it a go.  I haven't heard anything bad about compatibility, and if you're not too annoyed by the tiles... might as well give it a shot.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Statistics
85724 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.