Topic Title: ATI radeon 9600/X1050 Replacement
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/08/2013 05:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/08/2013 05:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thpweb
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/08/2013

Hello all! I have a computer with a 9 year old ATI Radeon 9600/X1050 Graphics Card which is showing signs of packing up. Can anyone please recommend a compatible Graphics Card I can purchase? Only need comparable quality to the old one, since, computer only used for business i.e. no gaming. The cheaper, the better.

 

 03/08/2013 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/21/2011

Does the motherboard have AGP or a PCI-e port for the VGA card?



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217

 03/08/2013 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thpweb
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/08/2013

It is a MSI 875P Neo Motherboard. It appears to be AGP 8X, according to the glossy MSI leaflet that came with my computer.

 03/08/2013 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/21/2011

For AGP, not much selection in AMD/ATI anymore. Seem be the HD4350 and HD3450.
If you can find a HD4350 for a good price, that would be my recommendation.

nVidia seem provide a broader range of choices,+ better price/performance ratio.

You did not mention in which country you reside, so just providing a newegg link as a sample.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007709%20600007850&IsNodeId=1&name=AGP%204X%2f8X&Order=PRICE

Comparison X1050 vs HD4350 :

http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=502&card2=665

Here an example of HIS HD4350, choice of VGA, HDMI, DVI connections.

http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-498.shtml



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217



Edited: 03/08/2013 at 09:37 AM by go_for
 03/08/2013 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13083
Joined: 04/17/2008

If I were you I would just go in eBay and look around at something like the 9600XT or X850.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/08/2013 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thpweb
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/08/2013

Thank you to go_for and black_zion for your feedback. Unfortunately, my computer spec is not up to handling the HD4350 (9 years old) i.e. I do not meet the 4350 minimum spec. Will try and Google for agp 8x graphic cards to see what I can find. I am from the UK.

 03/08/2013 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13083
Joined: 04/17/2008

www.ebay.co.uk, it'll hold you over until you do a complete upgrade, and much cheaper given the screwage of VAT in the UK

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/08/2013 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/21/2011

I agree, not much point spending £30-40 for a vga card on a rig of that age.

In case ebay does not have a card that you like, check also here :

http://pcupgrade.co.uk/category.asp?categoryid=115



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217

 03/10/2013 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thpweb
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/08/2013

I have been looking at the Radeon 9600pro, which is AGP (can get from Amazon). However, when I check specifications for this Card, it says it is 23.2cm x 15.4cm. My current one is only 17.3 x 10.7. Do you think the 9600pro size is the box size and not the actual card? It would be difficult to fit such a big card into most computers. http://www.amazon.co.uk/ATI-Radeon-9600pro-memory-videocard/dp/B004O9J5IQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1362910833&sr=1-1#productDetails

 03/10/2013 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13083
Joined: 04/17/2008

9 inches isn't that long, it can't be to terribly much shorter due to the length of the AGP slot itself.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
89096 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.