Topic Title: RADEON X1300 Series upgrade
Topic Summary: Optiplex graphics card upgrade
Created On: 03/20/2013 01:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/20/2013 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

hi guys, recently upgraded optiplex 745 SFF PC with 256mb ssd and looking  also at options for upgrading graphics card without having to change PSU etc (believe 275w). Basically want multi screen capability with connectivity and performance upgrade to extend life.  Use for office (hi res files) /surfing and some gaming. 

Can you advise suitable upgrade card allowing for below;

Windows 7 64 bit 

4GB RAM 667MHZ DDR2 (will probably upgrade to 8GB)

Optiplex 745 SFF Chassis

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz

256G SSD 6GB/S h/d

256MB ATI RADEON X1300 PRO 

 03/20/2013 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

The question is do you have the risers to allow it to fit a regular PCIe card. If you don't then you'll have to settle for the very low end low profile cards. The small form factor shipped with a 275w PSU, but it's a Dell, and 8 years old, so figure on it putting out around 200w, so you don't want anything with an axillary power connector.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/20/2013 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

thanks for quick reply - unfortunetly cant seem to be able to upload pic of chassis (jpg file) and not sure how to determine if risers? high enough. any suggested upgrade cards based on similar PCI express x16 card? 

 03/20/2013 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 56
Joined: 10/21/2011

This might fit, exchangeable brackets included :

 

http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-507.shtml

 

 



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217

 03/21/2013 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

Thanks.  Afraid not overly familiar with HIS but think out for a while and good reviews?.  Have seen eleswhere sapphire radeon HD 6570 1GB DDR3 PCIe 2.1 as possible option and the ASUS HD 6570 1GB card (same?).  how do these compare?   Can you comfirm compatible to my motherboard system as currently pci 1.1 and note new ones pci 2.1  and limited power supply. the HIS looks like only draws 20w which is v good - would this be the best option given plethora of cards available eg 5500 , 5600 etc series?

 03/21/2013 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

Please note that while they would fit in your power envelope, and have a little more power than your X1300, these are NOT gaming cards, they are intended for HTPC type setups.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/21/2013 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

noted thanks.  can you maybe advise what might be the best card i could get to improve performance etc given current setup and pc specs?  i.e. is there a suitable higher equivalent or those listed above best available? any preference on cards?

 03/21/2013 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

I don't like the idea of putting to powerful a card into a system with an 8 year old Dell PSU with a SFF chasis. If I were you I would really consider taking the opportunity to upgrade to a whole new setup.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2013 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion I don't like the idea of putting to powerful a card into a system with an 8 year old Dell PSU with a SFF chasis. If I were you I would really consider taking the opportunity to upgrade to a whole new setup.

Agreed - unfortunetly budget does not permit new pc. Just trying to extend pc life bit longer and big improvement already with ssd. Looking for purchase options for gpu upgrade that wont cause issues down the road.  eg should i go for the;

ATI Radeon HD 5450 1024MB GDDR3 SILENT LP card or

the HIS HD 6450 SILENCE 1024MB GDDR3 card as very similar price (overclockers uk)?

MSI HD 6570 LP Radeon Fraphics Card - 1GB (oddly 2GB card cheaper?) (scan.co.uk) or one of those listed under GPU -AMD, Radeon HD 5450-PCIe eg 1 GB VTX3D or the 1GB XFX HD?(scan.co.uk)

 

Greately appreaciate guidance on above.

 

 03/22/2013 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

NEVER an MSI. So between the 5450 and 6450, I'd choose the 6450 for the lower power draw and higher performance.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/25/2013 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paperclip
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/20/2013

Sorry for delay.  Thanks for that -the 6450 it is then. Have noticed numerous 6450's on market from HIS/SAPPHIRE/ASUS/GV?/XFX.  Apart from a few other differences note memory clocks speeds differ eg 800-1334MHz.  What is the significance here?

Have narrowed down to two (overclockers.co.uk);

HIS HD 6450 Silence 1024mb gddr3 PCIe 1000MHz or

Sapphire HD 6450 1024mb gddr3 PCIe 1334MHz card (not sure if this comes with LP brackets kit?)

 

Which is best make/spec assumming sapphire has the LP kit?

 

 03/25/2013 05:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

I have a Sapphire HD6450 on a linux non-gaming machine, surfs the web smooth and even plays an occasional movie , passive cooling really gets the noise levels down.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
85751 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.