Topic Title: Making New Computer: These Specs any Good?
Topic Summary: Want to get opinions on a budget rig.
Created On: 05/21/2013 05:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightwulf64
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2013

Hey everyone, how's it going? Awesome. Anyway, I'm building a budget gaming rig for myself. After looking at all the components and putting them all in my shopping cart, I decided I might as well see what people think. So, here's the specs I'm going to have, all the way from the case to the PSU.

Case: Thermaltake Versa II Mid Tower ATX

PSU: Corsair Gaming Series GS700 700W 80+ Bronze Certified, Single _12V

Mobo: Biostar AMD A780L3C

CPU: AMD Athlon II 450 Tri-core 3.2GHz

RAM: 2x8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600MHz

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA

SSD: SanDisk 128GB SATA 6GB/s 

CDD: LG 24x DVD Burner

Graphics Card: Diamond Radeon HD 6670 2GB DD3 RAM PCIe 2.1

I may or may not opt out of the SSD because I can deal with slightly slower game loads. I wanna try and keep it under 600, and the SSD puts that over by quite a bit. 

Give me your opinions, I'm looking for some input. Specifically if I could play Battlefield 3 or Bioshock Infinite on 1080p res with medium or higher settings. Thanks.

 

EDIT: Added CPU to component list.



-------------------------
AMD A10-5700 APU 3.4 Ghz CPU
AMD Radeon HD 7660D & 7670 (isolating 7670)
8 GB DDR3 Kingston PC3-10700 (667MHz)
500W PSU

Edited: 05/23/2013 at 04:01 PM by nightwulf64
 05/21/2013 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

You don't need a SSD. Get the Seagate MomentusXT 1TB hybrid drive instead. As for being able to max out Battlefield 3 or Bioshock Infinite, no you won't. As [L=Guru3D]http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/bioshock_infinite_graphics_performance_review_benchmark,6.html[/l shows, you need an HD 7970 to push 1920x1080 with 60FPS frame rates.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/23/2013 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

I like this system. I would also opt for a slightly higher powered graphics card, to do what you want to do. That being said, my little brother has a 6670 which runs BF3 and many of his games just fine, though I don't think he has things maxed out.

You may be able to save some money by going for 8GB of RAM. I don't know that anyone needs 16GB, and RAM prices are sort of stupid right now.

EDIT: Are you going to be upgrading from the system in your signature?

 

EDIT2: I apologize--little brother has an HD6750.



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 



Edited: 05/23/2013 at 12:47 PM by technic58
 05/23/2013 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightwulf64
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2013

Yea, I think maybe instead of a 6670, maybe opt for an nVidia 550Ti or Radeon 7850 or 7770. I have a 550Ti on another computer and it can run games rather well. I mainly just want to be able to run the game at 1080 res with custom settings like shadows turned to low, maybe 2x AA and 2x Antisptrophic Filtering. That would be about as good as most games look on Xbox, right?

I may lower the RAM to 8 GB, or 12GB, cause I want to be able to play games without having to upgrade too much.

And no, this won't be an upgrade from the system in the signature, unless it ends up being better.

Also, I'm planning on saving some money by using Linux instead of Windows. 



-------------------------
AMD A10-5700 APU 3.4 Ghz CPU
AMD Radeon HD 7660D & 7670 (isolating 7670)
8 GB DDR3 Kingston PC3-10700 (667MHz)
500W PSU
 05/23/2013 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightwulf64
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2013

I just realized that I didn't have a CPU listed. 

Well, the CPU that is going onto the Mobo is an AMD Athlon II 450 Tri-core 3.2GHz. 

Sorry for not posting. 



-------------------------
AMD A10-5700 APU 3.4 Ghz CPU
AMD Radeon HD 7660D & 7670 (isolating 7670)
8 GB DDR3 Kingston PC3-10700 (667MHz)
500W PSU
 05/23/2013 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1045
Joined: 11/22/2010

Tri-cores aren't really that good, they are almost always quad cores with a defective core given a purpose. Sometimes you can even enable the 4th core. Get a quad.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 05/23/2013 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you want to worry about having a machine that you won't really have to worry about, stop pussyfooting around and go high end.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84848 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.