Topic Title: AMD FX-8350 4.0Ghz or AMD FX-9370 4.7Ghz processors question
Topic Summary: Difference---small step? or big leap for the money and performance?
Created On: 11/06/2013 01:34 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/06/2013 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Simstim
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/28/2013

I am considering the "ever so popular" FX-8350 and had a reservation and looked at the next model up FX-9370 which runs 4.7Ghz instead of 4.0Ghz on the FX-8350. 9370 comes with watercooling included and 8350 comes with fan/heatsink included.   Is 9370 running that much hotter? Is it running a lot better for performance? (this comes from an Opteron user) I am not familiar truly what level of performance these exhibit and what kind of load it can handle.  Black_Zion,,,, I have setup similar to yours, so hopefully you can see this and share what you can throw at these and help me to understand. I still am unsure as I feel I'm stepping way down from Opterons. But then again, it might be a great move! !! Thanks for reading and all the help. cheers. (forgot,,,the 8350 seems a bit old, so why is it still a popular option when typically after as many years its been on market, why would it be a viable option for performance?_)



-------------------------
 11/06/2013 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Simstim
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/28/2013

Typo---Sorry = AMD FX-9370 4.4Ghz not 4.7Ghz



-------------------------
 11/06/2013 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Simstim
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/28/2013

Typo---Sorry = AMD FX-9370 4.4Ghz not 4.7Ghz



-------------------------
 11/06/2013 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12656
Joined: 04/17/2008

Well, look at it from a cost perspective.

FX-9370 runs at 4.4ghz and includes a liquid cooler for $269.99 after $20 instant rebate.
FX-8350 runs at 4ghz and doesn't include a liquid cooler for $199.99. Considering a good liquid cooler will cost between $50-$60, it puts the cost of the CPU and cooler pretty much the same.

The FX-9370 also requires the ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z, GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 or ASRock 990FX Extreme9 motherboard. The most inexpensive of the required 9370's boards is the AsRock at $180, followed by Gigabyte at $200 and ASUS at $225.
The FX-8350 can run on more inexpensive motherboards, but you also lose features and end up with a board built to a price (or a piece of ***** if you chose one based on the AMD 970 chipset) instead of a truly quality piece.

If it were me, considering the small price difference, I would get the FX-9370 with the Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7. Top end motherboards are the more likely to be able to support future processors, and can be the cheapest in the long run.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 12:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Simstim
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/28/2013

black-zion, Thanks for your time and expertise. 

I truly like and had picked the Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7 for my wishlist. I am comfortable with an Extended ATX motherboard, it's loaded and looks solid built.

FX-9370 looks promising. (How hot does your FX-8350 run?) 

1. Will this run extra hot because 4.4Ghz? Stock watercooling set should be good you think?

2. Performance wise,,, do you get system freezes ever at all?or is it smooth all the way?  (I'm Getting 16 GB of G.Skill Ripjaws to start and 256 GB SSD Samsung 840 Pro ((read 540mb/s , write 520mb/s)) for System only and have Seagate 3 TB, 1 TB, & 1 TB, for rendering and storage.

I am wondering if you ever get slowdowns.. possibly a ridiculous question in light of the update on technologies of multiple components. I just cannot be capturing Audio or Video or be Rendering and have it hang or freeze. that's why I ask.

Thanks again for your time and help. and others too.



-------------------------
 11/07/2013 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

I never have hiccups...  and I have a much older rev 1.0 UD7 which does NOT have LLC which is very inportant to these monster FX CPU's

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 11/07/2013 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12656
Joined: 04/17/2008

Mine never gets over 45°C (when ambient temperatures are 28°C) using this Corsair H60 with IC Diamond TIM and dual fans in push/pull and drawing fresh air in from outside the case (instead of using preheated case air.) I don't have any performance issues. The last time I had a crash was when I had a faulty RAM module.

I do hate ASUS discontinued the Sabertooth 990FX/Gen 3 R2 for whatever reason, having PCIe 3.0 capability makes it much more futureproof...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Simstim
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/28/2013

Can somebody please tell me how to change my Author Icon of a stupid DESK to something else? or did I miss my opportunity on signup?



-------------------------
Statistics
86404 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.