Topic Title: Need a new GPU for a Mac Pro
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/21/2013 10:03 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/21/2013 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Coyopa
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/21/2013

I need a new GPU for my Mac Pro.  I'm doing very processor intense Stereo 3D work in After Effects and my current GPUs aren't good enough.  Ideally I would get a whole new computer but that isn't an option for at least a few months and I need to finish this project sooner than that.  This is essentially a band-aid solution to get this project finished.

Here is my current setup:

Mac Pro 2 x 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon

32 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC RAM

2 x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512 MB 

OSX 10.8.5

After Effects CS6 and Creative Cloud

Blackmagic Intensity Pro for previewing on 3D TV

2 x 24" Apple Displays with the mini display port

It was suggested that I get a GPU with at least 2GBs of RAM and I would also need something that supports 2 monitors.  I also need PCI slots for my Blackmagic card and RAID controller card so please keep that in mind. 

I like the idea of this card but want something with more RAM

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC743ZM/A/ati-radeon-hd-5870-graphics-upgrade-kit-for-mac-pro-mid-2010-or-early-2009?fnode=53

 

Please feel free to ask any questions is I'm leaving out any information.

 11/21/2013 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11574
Joined: 04/17/2008

How about http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16814202027

Assuming your power supply is up to the task, and your mac supports PCIe 2.0.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/21/2013 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Coyopa
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/21/2013

Thank You!  I think that will work but I want to make sure before I order it.  How can I figure this out?  I'm not really a hardware guy so some of this is a bit over my head.

 11/21/2013 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrSmith
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/21/2013

I have almost the same specs with u accept the GPU. I have the 5870 and i was thinking to buy the new R9 290. My only problem is that if they have the proper drivers to support OSX and windows 8/8.1 (bootcamp). I dont see any driver for 7950 either... I hope we had more options with Mac...

 11/21/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11574
Joined: 04/17/2008

Open your case and look at the power supply. Under +12v how many amps does it list?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
80933 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.