Topic Title: Help me choose a Graphics Card for my Computer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/07/2014 02:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/07/2014 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yuriy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

Hello to everyone. First of all, I am a new user here and I need some help.

I want to change my graphics card but I am confused because I dont know If my computer can run it. My PC is pretty old.

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 2.50 GHz

RAM: 4,00 GB

MotherBoard: AsRock G41M-GS 

Power Supply: 450W  I think It has bad features. Is not worth much when I bought it also I can add a photo that show you the features.

I am interested in the following Graphics Card:

Randeon HD 6770 GDDR 1GB

Randeon HD 7750 GDDR5 1GB

Randeon HD 7770 GDDR5 1GB

 

Have a nice day.

 01/07/2014 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is your reason for upgrading (and what is your current card?)

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/08/2014 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yuriy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

My current card is CAPTIVA 9400GT 1GB 

When I try to play some game I have to change the resolution all the time and Its so annoying for me because if i don´t do it, the game going to lag

 

 01/08/2014 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/22/2010

Full system upgrade would be the best decision. But.. if you replace the psu with a 500-550w Corsair/Seasonic one, put an aftermarket cooler on the cpu and overlock it over 3ghz, it should run relatively well with any of those gpu's.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/08/2014 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

I agree with the complete system upgrade option. With that motherboard being so old there is a greater risk of issues, and the 2.5ghz C2Q isn't exactly an i7 these days...What games are you playing and what is your target resolution?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/08/2014 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

I would see no need to replace the cooller or overclock the CPU. In fact, I would recommend against it. 2.5ghz is plenty fast enough and overclocking an old processor could quickly fry it and /or other components on the motherboard. Personally, I never overclock anything. If you add a bigger power supply and an HD 7770 or 6770 card, you should see a marked improvement. Even an HD 4870 would be a big boost.  Don't be surprised, however, if the motherboard gives out after a year or so.



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.
 01/08/2014 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/22/2010

The overclocking recommendation was to reduce bottlenecking, you bottleneck heavily enough and a more powerful gpu can perform WORSE than the old one. I still have a q6600 machine running, overclocked since 2008, only needed a new psu 2 years ago.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/08/2014 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: Dch48 I would see no need to replace the cooller or overclock the CPU. In fact, I would recommend against it. 2.5ghz is plenty fast enough and overclocking an old processor could quickly fry it and /or other components on the motherboard. Personally, I never overclock anything. If you add a bigger power supply and an HD 7770 or 6770 card, you should see a marked improvement. Even an HD 4870 would be a big boost.  Don't be surprised, however, if the motherboard gives out after a year or so.

 

False utterly and completely false. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 01/08/2014 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not necessarily though. If you have a cheapo budget motherboard with low grade components, improperly install an aftermarket heatsink, and increase the voltage way to much, you can fry the motherboard or other components. But with quality components and proper techniques, overclocking will not reduce the useful life of a CPU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/09/2014 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yuriy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

I don't think I need to overclock my computer. 

My CPU has 4 Cores and Its working pretty well.

I have thought about buy a new PC but nowadays I can´t. So my idea was improve my graphics card for a better games experience.

I currently have a 21.5 inch monitor. I don't really care about the ultra/high settings. 

What should I do?

 01/09/2014 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

Originally posted by: Vantharas
Originally posted by: Dch48 I would see no need to replace the cooller or overclock the CPU. In fact, I would recommend against it. 2.5ghz is plenty fast enough and overclocking an old processor could quickly fry it and /or other components on the motherboard. Personally, I never overclock anything. If you add a bigger power supply and an HD 7770 or 6770 card, you should see a marked improvement. Even an HD 4870 would be a big boost.  Don't be surprised, however, if the motherboard gives out after a year or so.

 

False utterly and completely false. 

 

No, it is not false. While, as I said, I have never and will never overclock anything, I have upgraded video cards and power supplies on more than one machine. In every case, the motherboard has then died within 10-15 months. I can only attribute that to the increased power needs and supply. When I said don't be surprised if the motherboard fails, I had moved on from the overclocking issue and was referring to only replacing the card and PSU.

I have also heard many stories and even seen instances where components fail prematurely (including but not limited to the overclocked component) due to overclocking. That's the reason why I don't do it.

 

 



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.

Edited: 01/09/2014 at 02:59 PM by Dch48
 01/17/2014 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi My old system has a q9300 stock 8 gig ram ssd boot drive. I put a hd 7870 in it and it works great. Runs crysis 3 with no lag @ 1080p. Sure it is not a smooth as my I7-4770k but it runs fine.

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 02/08/2014 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
quacker017
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/29/2014

On the subject of cards....how do AMD's imbedded graphics compare to video cards?

 02/09/2014 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/22/2010

I have assembled a few A10 based machines for a few friends and they aren't complaining, there is nothing a good APU can't do, it can run latest games and play 1080p video smoothly, but if you are one of those who need to max out every setting in a game, play at 1080p or higher with anti-aliasing enabled, a dedicated graphics card is a must.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/09/2014 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

I agree. The only APU I have had hands on experience with is the A6-5400K and was very impressed with its performance at 1280x720 (the max resolution of that monitor). Now you have the A10-7850K which has 512 USPs, which is the same as a HD 7750 (though clocked at 720mhz instead of 800mhz, so performance will be slightly slower than a 7750 GDDR3 version when using DDR3 2400), which means 30FPS average at 1920x1080 with medium or better details in many games.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84703 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.