Topic Title: CPU and graphics card upgrade
Topic Summary: What is the best CPU and graphics card upgrade possible for my system
Created On: 03/15/2014 04:05 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/15/2014 04:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lynton-Jenkins
Peon

I have limited knowledge and just a little experience of changing parts in my pc so this question is in two parts - first though my existing system;

AMD Advent with AMD Phenom(tm) IIX2 550 Processor 3.4 GHz, 4.00 GB of RAM, 64-bit operating system.

Graphics AMD Radeon HD5700

Using windows 7

Problem; I have been experiencing a deteriation in game experience, with lag and frame freezing over the last year or so and now regualarily crash and get warnings of max cpu usage. Most of my gaming is in second life Gor. I also use the pc to make textures and mesh using gimp and blender sometimes whilst in the game.

Part 1 of question - Without changing the mother board what is the best cpu and graphics card up dagrades I could go for? In respect of the cpu upgrade whould I also need to upgrade the BIOS?

Part 2 of question - would it be easy for me to carry out these upgrades myself or would I be safer paying for it to be done?

Having done the above upgrades when funds permited I would intend to increase the ram - I beleve I could take this up to 8.00 GB

Thank you

03/16/2014 09:31 AM

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Before spending money I'd backup anything important, wipe the harddrive(OS partition) and reinstall the OS. Give the ol' computer a fresh start on life.

-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64