Topic Title: Want to upgrade my GPU
Topic Summary: PCI X16 v.2.0
Created On: 04/12/2014 09:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2014 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scorpio99
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/12/2014

I am sure this is answered somewhere here already but I can not find it anywhere.

 

 

So I have a PC a couple years old, works great, I am thinking of upgrading my GPU to a R9 series, I have a HD 6870 in it now from a older gaming PC I use to use. I have no issues, just want more power, but the only problem is this PC still has a PCI X16 V.2.0 slot, and the R9s are PCI V.3.0. Will it still work okay? Will it bottleneck the GPU into not working any better than the old card?

I was thinking of a 7870, but would it be worth it? Would I get a performance boost?


 

Any advise is greatly appreciated!

 04/12/2014 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

System specs? Motherboard, power supply, cpu. The slot is fine, but it comes down to other hardware to avoid bottlenecks or blowing up (in case of a weak psu). The only true R9's are R9 290, R9 290x and R9 295x2, the others are just rebadged HD7000 series.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 04/12/2014 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scorpio99
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/12/2014

Okay, its an HP HPE h8-1223, FX 8150 CPU, I upgraded the power supply to a good 900 watt (1200 max) PSW (I did this for the HD 6870), also upgraded the ram to 16 gigs (MB supports up to 32, but did not get there yet) and of course the HD 6870 card that is currently installed in it.

 04/13/2014 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

HD7870 would work completely fine on that system, though its only slightly more powerful than HD6870, to really see a performance boost, I'd recommend checking HD7900 / R9 280 series. CPU may need be overclocked to see their full potential without bottlenecks though.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
87457 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.