Topic Title: boosting HD 6990 advice
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/22/2014 07:16 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/22/2014 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
schulz192
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/22/2014

Good eveing, I currently have a hd 6990 graphics card, while it runs good its age is starting to show and unfortunatly I do not have the money for a full upgrade so I was wondering would the A10-7850 help at all? The current problem the card is having is mostly with large amounts of objects on the screen or physics of lets say a building falling apart. my machine is decent runnign 16gb of ram and currently an fx 8350, I was wondering would the added Gpus of the A10 series help over the 8 cores of the FX series?

 06/22/2014 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Using an APU would force you to select between them, their graphics capabilities don't pool. You could try overlocking both your cpu and gpu for increased performance.

-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/23/2014 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Or you can try gaming on a 1080p monitor with dx11, max/ high settings and anti-aliasing=off/ fxaa/ x2 MSAA (depending on game)

I play like that on all modern demanding games and usually getting the 60 fps mark, or somewhere between 50-60 fps, which is quite respectable for today's cards' performance.

Make sure that tesseletion setting is in normal/ mid values in-game.

If you are forgetting to turn off physx in-game, please do. It can cripple performance.

DO NOT use an APU. You have been warned.

 

If you want any more feedback feel free to ask.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/23/2014 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Which games are we talking about, what resolution and what settings?  It sounds like you're hitting your vRAM cap possibly.  I used to run a pair of 6990s and their 2GB per GPU frame buffer was a bit of a crutch for their power.  I often hit the cap trying to play games like Metro 2033 & BF3 maxed out with higher AA settings. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/23/2014 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: HoneyBadger84 Which games are we talking about, what resolution and what settings?  It sounds like you're hitting your vRAM cap possibly.  I used to run a pair of 6990s and their 2GB per GPU frame buffer was a bit of a crutch for their power.  I often hit the cap trying to play games like Metro 2033 & BF3 maxed out with higher AA settings. 

 

 

Good point.

 

First thing i do is to lower the aa or use mlaa or fxaa,

I personally play all games on max settings, except supersampling and aa, with very good fps, ~55-60 with v-sync, till today.

Watch dogs is actually the first game to notice low performance on a hd6990, but that is more because of bad optimization and, consequently, poor driver support, than due to vram.

Bf3 max settings, 1080p, x4 msaa = 60fps locked 99.9% of time.

Metro:ll similar settings = 45-60 fps

Metro 2033, same settings = 55-60 fps

 

So saying "its age is starting to show" , would suggest that schulz192 may have bad configured settings and/ or bad drivers.

 

More feedback would be appreciated schulz192 .........



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/23/2014 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

You also havent specified which drivers you are using, using latest drivers could give massive performance boost to some games. Its also important to do a clean/sweeped install of them once in a while.

-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/23/2014 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Indeed.  My testing was done way back on the 11/12 catalyst sets, so quite a while ago now. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/24/2014 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: zipsi You also havent specified which drivers you are using, using latest drivers could give massive performance boost to some games. Its also important to do a clean/sweeped install of them once in a while.

 

The more appropriate word would be "should", because the driver algorithm is dynamic and constantly modified to support newer, modern games than older ones.

An older driver should be much more optimized for some older games, especially dx9 games, but dx11 as well.

 

My own HD6990 is performing quite well on almost any demanding older or newer game, regardless the driver used (with one or two exceptions to be fair).

As long as crossfirex works well, to be more precise.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
85473 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.