Topic Title: Is AMD Fusion Utility discontinued?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/23/2013 01:47 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/23/2013 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elessar
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/21/2008

Cannot find the download anywhere on AMD's pages anymore or a link anywhere online to AMD's download page. Used to be available just to the left of Graphics Drivers along with AOD and SystemMonitor.

If there is still a link you need to make it much more accessible. Every search (for AMD Fusion, Fusion Utility, or just Fusion) i put through on AMD's pages just led to lots of articles about driver fusion and mobile fusion, all about APUs and things.



-------------------------

MB: ASRock 890GX Pro3 AM3+
CPU: Phenom II x4 955BE (@4.2GHz)
RAM: 4x 2GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 1600
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870 (@950MHz/1200MHz)
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU: Athena Power 950w
HDD: 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB, SG Barracuda 1.5TB
OS: Win7 x64 & Win8 x64
Sidewinder x4/x8
XBOX360 Wireless Gamepad

 01/23/2013 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7218
Joined: 11/13/2009

This question was asked some time ago, and nobody could find a download for it anywhere on AMD. The only place was here> http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/System-Tweak/AMD-Fusion-for-Gaming.shtml and I believe it is two or three years old. If you have a AMD processor and graphics card, then there is Overdrive Utility http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/amd-overdrive/Pages/overview.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/23/2013 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elessar
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/21/2008

overdrive doesn't give you the ability to stop windows processes and make profiles for which would be stopped that i ever saw. i have just downloaded version Fusion Utility v15.0.0.591 from AMD the end of last year. much newer than the one you mentioned which i had found earlier that is, i think, v2.0...

so AMD just wouldn't comment on the subject themselves when the questioned was raised previously? what the hell is up?



-------------------------

MB: ASRock 890GX Pro3 AM3+
CPU: Phenom II x4 955BE (@4.2GHz)
RAM: 4x 2GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 1600
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870 (@950MHz/1200MHz)
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU: Athena Power 950w
HDD: 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB, SG Barracuda 1.5TB
OS: Win7 x64 & Win8 x64
Sidewinder x4/x8
XBOX360 Wireless Gamepad

 01/23/2013 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4872
Joined: 12/27/2008

Probably its discontinued as gaming on single core CPUs is almost non-existant these days.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/23/2013 07:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Yes,l I think having to worry about shutting down processes when gaming is  redundant these days. I still limit the number of Startup programs though, mostly for old times sake I suppose.

 01/23/2013 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7218
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: elessar overdrive doesn't give you the ability to stop windows processes and make profiles for which would be stopped that i ever saw. i have just downloaded version Fusion Utility v15.0.0.591 from AMD the end of last year. much newer than the one you mentioned which i had found earlier that is, i think, v2.0...

so AMD just wouldn't comment on the subject themselves when the questioned was raised previously? what the hell is up?

Game Booster does all these things and more. http://www.techspot.com/downloads/4842-game-booster.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/23/2013 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elessar
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/21/2008

Originally posted by: Eydee Probably its discontinued as gaming on single core CPUs is almost non-existant these days.

 

has nothing to do with the cores you have. it stops services and programs from starting while you're trying to game, frees up about 1.5gbs of memory for me, and frees up about 10% of cpu usage from all backup programs, antivirus, services, can block all online connections if you need, controls power usage, etc. instead of having a "gaming" profile for each of the programs separately controlling these things it's all right there in my 4 different profiles depending on what i'm doing. forget "gaming" anyway, i'd be usin it just to know this windows crap isn't running when i don't need it to for no reason.



-------------------------

MB: ASRock 890GX Pro3 AM3+
CPU: Phenom II x4 955BE (@4.2GHz)
RAM: 4x 2GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 1600
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870 (@950MHz/1200MHz)
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU: Athena Power 950w
HDD: 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB, SG Barracuda 1.5TB
OS: Win7 x64 & Win8 x64
Sidewinder x4/x8
XBOX360 Wireless Gamepad

 01/24/2013 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Ending processes is one way of doing it, and Game Booster is popular for that concept, but -

There is no game alive (and very little else) that will use your 8GB RAM anyway. The most RAM use I get is 46% of 8GB, and that's only with a couple of AAA titles.  About 1.35 GB of that is what Windows and a few Startup programs use at idle.

My Phenom 965 @ stock 3.4GHz has never had a problem either. I only have on average 64 processes running, but most of them are only sitting in memory, not using the cpu at all.

If you want stop programs from starting when booting into Window do it via the System Configuration > Startup tab. Services you never use can be disabled. Easy as.

AV's can be disabled from their Taskbar icon, and backups can be done manually. No reason to have anything set to something automatic if you are going to end the process anyway. Same with defrag. On line connections are easily blocked by disabling my LAN from a desktop icon.

 

 01/25/2013 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elessar
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/21/2008

okay Dimwittie, 

Don't get what point you are arguing towards: that Fusion Utilitly was not a good program or that Windows is fine and can't be improved for gaming circumstances? Very good reason to always have my User folders constantly backing up because games and programs are always changing\adding to them and I\you never know when you are going to fub a mission or, for example, erase playlists you had meant to keep, etc. And no, I don't want to have to manually do this all the time. And my "regular use" profile will allow them to run when i want them running. "gaming" profile will stop them when a more intensive game is running. Also, like I said: It's MUCH easier to click one profile that controls everything than it is shutting down security programs one by one, changing window's power profiles, turning off backup, and even changing from Aero themes to default if you want that slight extra boost, besides much more that it has to offer such as overclock profiles, every time I want to game. Very simple: all this and more in 1 click or going through it ALL 1 by 1 every time I'm using the PC and want to change from work circumstance to game circumstance.

I have all the processes I want\need running always running, and when I'm gaming I want them off and Fusion works perfect for it so how about SHUT THE ***** UP and answer the question if you can or go away!



-------------------------

MB: ASRock 890GX Pro3 AM3+
CPU: Phenom II x4 955BE (@4.2GHz)
RAM: 4x 2GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 1600
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870 (@950MHz/1200MHz)
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU: Athena Power 950w
HDD: 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB, SG Barracuda 1.5TB
OS: Win7 x64 & Win8 x64
Sidewinder x4/x8
XBOX360 Wireless Gamepad

 01/25/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Elessar,

Perhaps you awoke on the wrong side of the bed.  Keep it civil.  There really is no need for such hostility as shown in your last post. 

You asked for help.  People who owe you nothing were kind enough to try and help.  Perhaps you aren't getting the answer you were hoping, but they merely were trying to offer alternatives. 

;Marc


EDIT
- I did also get confirmation that the Fusion Utility was completely discontinued.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.



Edited: 01/25/2013 at 11:21 AM by Marc@AMD
 02/06/2013 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elessar
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/21/2008

thank you for an answer.

and people I was responding to were not "trying to help" with my question; were only replying that there was no point for me to be looking for AMD Fusion.

 



-------------------------

MB: ASRock 890GX Pro3 AM3+
CPU: Phenom II x4 955BE (@4.2GHz)
RAM: 4x 2GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 1600
GPU: XFX Radeon 6870 (@950MHz/1200MHz)
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
PSU: Athena Power 950w
HDD: 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB, SG Barracuda 1.5TB
OS: Win7 x64 & Win8 x64
Sidewinder x4/x8
XBOX360 Wireless Gamepad

Statistics
84866 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.