Topic Title: 8970M Crossfire poor performance issues
Topic Summary: Currently on a sustem with 2x 8970M, latest AMD drivers, and the performance seems disapointing due to drivers it seems.
Created On: 09/22/2013 02:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2013 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

So after seeing the performance of a 7970M, i got my new machine with 2 8970M, expecting to  kick ass graphics wise.

 

Little did i know that the crossfire seems too buggy to use.

So i tried with crossfire on, and Off, and to my surprise, the gpu performance is higher with just one gpu, rather than 2. Which is oddly strange.

Also, and i do not know if its only driver related, most games, don't even know wth is a crossfire setup, using most of the times just one gpu, and poorly due to conflicts with the crossfire settings, which need then to be turned off, in order to play smoothly and getting full performance of a single gpu.

 

So my question is, what is wrong, is it game issues, driver issues?

I know for sure that the hardware is pristine, and i very satisfied with the amd8970m, however when i try getting the two of them to work, it's a complete fail.

 

Any advice»?

 09/22/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hi mate, 

by saying 8970M do you mean its a laptop version?

if yes, would you please tell me the brand and model of your laptop?

i had this issue some time ago, it happens when either your cpu is bottlenecking or your powersupply is not enough.

search this forum for "ulps" and how to turn it off and also set your power options to "high performance".



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/22/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Hi thanks!

Indeed it is a laptop version.

The model and brand, its a Clevo P370SM, which can pack, or supposebly can pack, a crossfire of 8970M.

My cpu should be enough to handle it, although while gaming, and i tried it in:

BF3, rome 2, need for speed shift 2, and remember me, i always had more performance with a single gpu, and more stability.

And i find it strange since, there are specific crossfire profiles for rome 2 and bf3, as a standard option on CCC.

I'm not sure what do you mean by ULPs, because if it is a BIOS tinkering thing, i will be unable to do it as, the laptop bios is very limited, could you explain it please.

Thanks in advance

 09/22/2013 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hi yes,

ulps is not an option in bios, but an option in your windows registry.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=166552&enterthread=y

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/22/2013 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Wow, as simple as that?

Gonna try it out, and post back the results.

Thanks in advance

 09/22/2013 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

if it workef do not forget to thank "stumped" who actually shared this matter  with all of us!



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/22/2013 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Done and done, thanks for poiting it out man. Got some gaming catching up to do

 09/22/2013 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

im glad it worked for you



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 10/16/2013 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Well i'm back at this.

After trying the ULPS, mentioned, it worked ok, but it seems it is not enough.

Something else is missing. I have better frames sometimes using just one GPU, rather than the crossfire setup.

If i use the Crossfire setup on a benchmark, the score is ultra, meaning the crossfire is properly used.

But during games, even for example, on the latest driver, catalyst referred to a better scaling on Rome 2 for example, but the performance on the minimap is just terrible, from time to time, there's even solids in therem, glitching textures etc etc.

On older games, the crossfire is not recognized, 2010 releases or so, but i guess that is understandable.

 

However on late releases, such as BF3, im getting this huge gap, of 50-190 fps while playing, not the loading screens. Any other suggestions on how to fix it. I also seem to be under the impression that catalyst 12, had better performance graphics i seem to recall it vaguely.

 

anyway thanks in advance

 12/09/2013 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geko95gek
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/09/2013

So turning off ULPS did not help you at all??

Also, I hope you know that some games simply aren't designed to use CrossfireX. So you're troubles might not be anything to do with AMD at all.



-------------------------

Intel i7-4800MQ @ 2.7Ghz + AMD Radeon HD 8970M 4GB GDDR5 
                              


^_^!amazing combo!^_^

 12/09/2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Yeah ULPS, did not change a thing.

Yes, i know some games are not meant to Crossfire.

But one of them, had a specific profile for Crossfire, Rome 2, yet, i find lots of graphic issues on that specific game, textures beeing poorly displayed, and the presence of black squares, just on that game.

 

By the way, on a personal area, did you have to do anything to upgrade to a 8970M, which laptop setup are ou on?

 12/09/2013 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geko95gek
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/09/2013

Originally posted by: neodredd Yeah ULPS, did not change a thing.

Yes, i know some games are not meant to Crossfire.

But one of them, had a specific profile for Crossfire, Rome 2, yet, i find lots of graphic issues on that specific game, textures beeing poorly displayed, and the presence of black squares, just on that game.

 

By the way, on a personal area, did you have to do anything to upgrade to a 8970M, which laptop setup are ou on?

 

Hmm ok, what about trying different drivers?? That might bring some sort of improvement, especially the latest beta ones.

I've got an XMG P723 (Clevo P370SM) with 1 HD 8970M, and I'm planning to get a 2nd GPU early next year at some point.

What do you mean upgrade??



-------------------------

Intel i7-4800MQ @ 2.7Ghz + AMD Radeon HD 8970M 4GB GDDR5 
                              


^_^!amazing combo!^_^

 12/10/2013 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Nevermind, i was mixing up the cpu models. Thought for a moment it was a 3rd gen cpu with the new gpu's.

I know some games won't recognize Crossfire, and are not meant to recognize, but one game that has very bad scaling, is rome 2, and AMD launhced a specific profile just for it, or so it appeared on the release notes. 

Fact is i couldn't find it on the profile list on CCC, wierd.

Also the game performance while crossfire is on, and Off is about the same, hence my doubt about it.

PS. Mate i have pm'd you regarding something.

 12/15/2013 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neodredd
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/22/2013

Mate check your Message when you can

B regards

Statistics
84157 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.