Topic Title: HDMI
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/31/2013 04:17 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2013 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
onionmann
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/18/2013

So I plugged my laptop to my TV using HDMI and it looks extemely crappy but when I use a VGA cord it looks normal. How can I get it to look better on HDMI?

 12/31/2013 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Detects wrong resolution?



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 12/31/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
onionmann
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/18/2013

I thought maybe but i am pretty sure i changed every setting in the amd catalyst area and nothing has changed

and now my mouse moves the wrong direction when i go between screens

 01/02/2014 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1406
Joined: 07/13/2009

It may not be possible.  It depends entirely on whether ot not your television lets you disable overscan (i.e. set 1:1 pixel mapping) when on HDMI input.

How you do that will vary from brand to brand, and often between models within the brand.  If you specify which model you have, I can try to figure it out from the online manual.

You'll know when you succeed, as the desktop will then be surrounded by empty space on the screen.  Then you need to tell Catalyst to stop compensating for overscan.  In CCC, under the My Digital Flat-Panels section, select the Scaling Options page.  There will be a slider labelled Underscan/Overscan, which you need to move to the far right at 0%.

If your television does not support 1:1 pixel mapping over HDMI, then you're stuck with poor quality or VGA.

 

Statistics
85448 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.