Topic Title: My AMD Radeon 7730M doesn't seem to work.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/22/2014 12:50 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/22/2014 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adamop87
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/22/2014

I run a laptop with an i5-3210M, 6GB of RAM and a Radeon 7730M on Windows 8.

This card is displayed in my device manager yet in any games or scans it refuses to be detected. Instead my Intel HD Graphics 4000 are displayed and used. 

Is there any way to fix this? 

 01/22/2014 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7168
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a good article. You didn't mention your laptop model or make, but the graphics properties are similar no matter which brand you have.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=168570&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/27/2014 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
a2falcone
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/27/2014

Same problem with a Radeon HD 8670M.

I have an HP Pavilion 14-016la, i5-3230M, 8 GB RAM and Windows 8.

The linked article about switchable graphics is of no good at all.

 01/28/2014 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xellon
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/22/2014

Whats the point in having an HD Radeon and an HD graphics? Hope its not to save power consumption.

 

I'd assume if your laptop is at factory settings, everything should work well. Have you checked your bios settings? You may just be able to completely disable your HD graphics so it doesn't show up. This way it will only detect your radeon graphics card.



-------------------------

Asus G73jh-A1 ~ Windows 7 64 Bit ~ I7-720Qm ~ ATI 5870M (Sometimes OC to  780/1075) ~ 8 Gigs Ram ~ SSD

 01/28/2014 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
a2falcone
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/27/2014

It is to save power consumption. The notebook uses the less battery demanding HD Graphics when doing regular stuff like surfing the internet or writing a document. When you run a game, 3D design app or any graphics demanding app, it changes to the high battery cunsumption dedicated Radeon card. This is administrated by the AMD driver and you can change the card that will be used for each app or which one will be used whether you are connected or in battery mode.

Thanks, I'll check my bios if the problem persist after recovering my system.

 01/30/2014 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xellon
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/22/2014

Originally posted by: a2falcone It is to save power consumption. The notebook uses the less battery demanding HD Graphics when doing regular stuff like surfing the internet or writing a document. When you run a game, 3D design app or any graphics demanding app, it changes to the high battery cunsumption dedicated Radeon card. This is administrated by the AMD driver and you can change the card that will be used for each app or which one will be used whether you are connected or in battery mode.

 

Thanks, I'll check my bios if the problem persist after recovering my system.

 

 

Hope it works for you. I normally just downclock to save on battery life. I'm sure the normal HD card takes more power then necessary as well (just a guess, don't know specs on it).



-------------------------

Asus G73jh-A1 ~ Windows 7 64 Bit ~ I7-720Qm ~ ATI 5870M (Sometimes OC to  780/1075) ~ 8 Gigs Ram ~ SSD

Statistics
84655 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.