Topic Title: HD6990 black screen
Topic Summary: Black screen on laptop
Created On: 03/19/2014 04:23 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/19/2014 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lillegum
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/15/2013

Hello

I have a laptop with a radeon HD6990, and recently I couldn't start it. After the boot-logo (windows 8) and just before the login screen, the screen simply went black. I tried reparing and did some stuff from safe mode (which worked), but nothing did any difference, so I formatted it. After the format, I could enter the computer, but only for 15 minutes. After that, different things happened - sometimes it simply went black, other times the screen split into two sides (splitscreen), and the 2 sides switch places. Any idea, if this is a problem with the graphics card? I've tried a bunch of things, but nothing seems to work. Thanks

 

- Lillegum

 03/19/2014 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8773
Joined: 11/13/2009

Contact your laptop manufacturer. This doesn't sound like a graphics issue...unless you left out something that you did before this problem started.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 03/20/2014 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lillegum
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/15/2013

Thanks for getting back to me. It just seems like it's something to do with my graphic card. I got a dump file - do you know how to read them? I saw at the bsod, that it had something to do with atikmdag.sys. I uploaded the dump file here, if you can use that for anything: http://ge.tt/5uP96DS1/v/0?c

 03/19/2015 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ksi
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/19/2015

Hey,

I have the same issue..ever since the windows automatically updated my laptop has been black screening. Ive gone as far to uninstall windows 8 and reverted back to windows 7 home however i still get a black screen when i update my 6990 driver. The only way i can use my laptop now is if i run the Standard VGA graphics adapter as my driver. I haven't updated my windows 7 home yet but im going to try that next and reinstall the driver..hope this works, fingers crossed. If anyone has luck solving this black screen issue please let us know, thanks in advance!

 

 03/20/2015 05:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lillegum
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/15/2013

Hey ksi

 

That seems like a different problem than the one I had. I send the laptop to the manufacturer, who changed the graphics card, and that worked perfectly.

Statistics
93172 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2015 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.