Topic Title: Radeon swtichable graphics not working
Topic Summary: Having trouble switching from Intel to Radeon Graphics
Created On: 05/25/2014 03:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/25/2014 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragtimebetty
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/25/2014

I have Intel HD 3000 and Radeon HD 6770M graphics cards.  Device manager shows both and states they are up to date and working.  GPU-Z shows both graphics cards.

When I try to use CCC (catalyst) it tells me there is no radeon card installed or its unavailable. 

Using Control Panel, it also does not give me the option to switch graphics cards.

Anyone have any suggestions?

 

http://imgur.com/MPwUxOB,yJc2Bpx#0

 



Edited: 05/25/2014 at 04:27 PM by ragtimebetty
 05/25/2014 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7089
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes... Read this...pay attention to the part about swichable graphics. You have installed geneic drivers. ..that's why your switchable/CCC feature is borked.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/25/2014 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragtimebetty
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/25/2014

so basically, I can't switch the graphics?

 05/25/2014 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7089
Joined: 11/13/2009

No....as it says, use the drivers the laptop manufacturer provides. Your other option is to use the Leshcat drivers.

 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/25/2014 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragtimebetty
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/25/2014

got it working by doing the following:

 

1. control panel > programs and features > uninstall AMD drivers (if any) and restart (if asked to)
2. control panel > programs and features > uninstall intel DISPLAY drivers only and restart (if asked to)
3. boot into safe mode
4. open DDU, select 'AMD' from the drop down on top, select all check boxes on the right side, click the first big button 'clean and restart (highly recommended)'
5. let it boot up into normal mode, then restart and go back to safe mode
6. open DDU, select 'INTEL' from the drop down on top, select all check boxes on the right side, click the first big button 'clean and restart (highly recommended)'
7. boot up into normal mode. (BTW if at any point so far or from now you're unable to boot into normal mode, do that step in safe mode)
8. Install 'Intel Chipset Installation Utility and Driver', restart if it asks you to
9. Install MEI, restart if it asks you to

10. Install the Radeon Driver from HP (this also installs the Intel driver so no need to install Both)

 

Use this for driver uninstalling:  http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

Statistics
84341 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.