Topic Title: R9 m275x
Topic Summary: New Laptop, Issues with Card
Created On: 08/12/2014 07:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/12/2014 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

I just bought a Lenovo Y40 with a R9 m275x graphics card built in 2 weeks ago.

 

At first i was having issues with the card, but after updating the driver to 14.7 from the AMD site everything seemed fine.

 

Yesterday Windows disabled the graphics card (as per device manager), since them i have tried uninstalling/reinstalling, different drivers, auto downloading via windows and AMD downloader to no avail. At one point it recognised the incorrect graphics card (i think it said it was the 8800M).

I am running windows 8.1 currently.

 

Can anyone help?

 08/12/2014 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Have you tried installing drivers from Lenovo?

http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/lenovo-y-series-laptops/y40-70-notebook-lenovo

Another thing you could try is removing all traces of existing drivers in safe-mode using Driver Fusion or Guru3d's DDU and then reinstalling your preferred drivers.

Tip: Never install drivers using windows update. AMD auto downloader appears to be causing many issues as well.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 08/13/2014 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

Have downloaded all the graphics drivers from that site (AMD and Intel) and doest seem to have made any difference.

 

The other idea you had sounds a little intense for such a new computer under warranty, i may have been tempted to do this with an old beater, but not something 2 weeks old...

 08/13/2014 08:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

Use your system restore. Restore it to a point before the windows update.....and/or look at your 'installed windows updates'. Find the one that was recently installed that has to do with your graphics and delete it. There is a guide in the FAQ about installing new AMD drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/13/2014 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

Will do this when home tonight...

 

Will it be clear which ones are graphics updates in windows update?

 

Possibly unrelated, but the number of options i get in catalyst control center is very limited, could this be because the video card is disabled?

 08/13/2014 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: derekdunn1873 Will do this when home tonight...

 

 

 

Will it be clear which ones are graphics updates in windows update?

 

 

 

Possibly unrelated, but the number of options i get in catalyst control center is very limited, could this be because the video card is disabled?

 

Probably...or it's just not installed correctly. Yes, the update should specifically mention AMD and/or Intel.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/14/2014 07:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

Nothing worked...

 

The laptop is on its way back to Lenovo today...

 08/14/2014 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

When you get it back....set Windows Update to give you critical updates only. Then check it manually every so often (patch Tuesday) for optional or recommended updates and install the ones that have nothing to do with your AMD or Intel graphics drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/14/2014 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

OK, thanks, sounds good...

I created an image of the computer last night, but from what you are saying it sounds like you think this is a software issue, therefore i should have just done the factory reset and not sent it back?

If this is a software issue then i cannot reimage my computer (as i will have the same issues)and the backup they told me to do was useless, and if i want the computer to work, I will lose all my files?

 08/14/2014 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

You can back up your files ok (pictures/music/documents/etc), but any 3rd party programs you have installed, will have to be reinstalled. As new as your computer is/was, I would have done/tried a factory reset. What did you find when looking for installed updates?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/14/2014 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

One AMD update that succeeded which i removed, and two AMD updates that failed.

There were no Intel updates at all.

I thought about doing a reset, however when i first got the computer the video card was listed as a different model in the device manager to what was installed, and when we rolled the driver settings back last night over the phone with the tech this situation was replicated...

 

 08/14/2014 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

Did the graphics card show up as a 88xx series? I belive the 275x is rebranded so that would not be a problem/issue. Does your laptop use Enduro graphics solution?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/14/2014 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

Yes it did 88xx, but Windows stopped it working immediately. Then when i updated the driver software, it changed to the R9 m275x in device manager, then Windows stopped it working as well! 

 

I do not know what Enduro Graphics Solution is or if it was installed, the laptop is off to Lenovo now for a warranty repair.

 

 

 08/14/2014 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

You might ask Lenovo about the Enduro. It is basically a version of 'switchable' graphics...and has had big issues from the start.All of the "power Saving/throttle my cpu and gpu" programs are not gaming friendly, but laptop manufacturers include them because it gives longer battery life...and that's what sells laptops. This is one of the reasons not to buy a laptop to game with...especially graphics demanding games.

QUOTE:

AMD Enduro™ technology1

Intelligent power features. AMD Enduro™ technology switchable graphics mode optimizes your notebook to give you an instant boost in graphics performance when you need it, consuming virtually zero watts of power when you don’t. Get the most performance out of your battery using AMD Radeon™ graphics.1,2

Key Benefits:

  • Seamlessly switch between your APU or integrated graphics and your AMD Radeon™ graphics based on graphics workload to allow you to get longer battery life and outstanding performance.
  • Intelligent implementation in AMD Catalyst™ drivers allow the system to find the best graphics option for your needs or enables you to configure it yourself for the best performance possible.

AMD ZeroCore Power technology2

Allows your AMD Radeon™ GPU to consume virtually no power when in idle state. It also controls additional GPUs in AMD CrossFire™ technology mode to consume less when it is not in use.

Key Benefits:

  • Greater idle power reduction shutting down the GPU
  • Core GPU functional blocks consume 0W while the rest of the PC remains in long idle state

AMD PowerTune technology2

Intelligently monitors and manages the power draw of your AMD Radeon™ GPU to enable higher clock speeds, which provides improved performance.

Key Benefits:

  • Offers built in GPU power sensing for improved headroom and performance based on thermal requirements of system
  • Adjusts GPU power based on application performance, giving you the performance you require for light 3D/Video applications, and maximizes performance in 3D Gaming and compute applications

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/14/2014 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

I did a quick google...

I never saw this referenced when on the laptop, but it certainly had switching graphics (between integrated and dedicated)

It does sound a bit crap, unless it can be turned off...

Forgive my naivety, however is this a normal software program that can be installed/uninstalled? Or is this tied to the hardware?

 

 

 08/14/2014 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7418
Joined: 11/13/2009

Its in the hardware. You may be able to disable it in the bios....changing the graphics from 'dynamic' (or something similar) to 'fixed' or 'static'. Any of the other mentioned programs, if you can find them, can be disabled. Alot can be done in your computer power settings (performance mode for gaming)...check the 'advanced settings' and change ...minimum processor setting...etc., anything to do with power saving.

Disabling ULPS is another suggestion.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/21/2014 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derekdunn1873
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/12/2014

Just received this back from Lenovo, they said they had replaced the motherboard and fixed it, but when i turned on the computer and checked device manager nothing had been done, was still broken.

 

Now they are saying that a clean reboot will fix it, but to be honest, if i thought that was the truth they would have done it there.

 

How did they not notice that the device manager was still showing an error is my question, after this "motherboard replacement"

Statistics
87451 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.